Into the Andes


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Los Lagos » Puerto Varas
March 6th 2014
Published: March 7th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Today I spent all day on an organized scenic tour up into the Andes. This tour consisted of close to fifty people and so was considerably larger than the three-person tour I took in Mexico! We drove from Puerto Varas along the south shore of Lake Llanquihue (the one in front of my hotel), past Volcan Osorno (the snow-capped peak directly across the lake from my hotel), and on to Lago Todos los Santos. The Lake of All Saints is better know as "emerald lake" because of its natural green color. (See photo) We boarded a boat that travels the length of the lake and passes through spectacular scenery with volcanic peaks and steep Andean hills wherever you look. (See photo) The end of the line is the tiny town of Puella where there is one commercial establishment: a resort lodge. Lunch at the lodge is not included in the price of the tour and I had read that the food is not very good - it doesn't have to be good because there is no competition. So I bought a few groceries yesterday afternoon and brought a sack lunch with me. I walked a little way along the valley and found an old beached boat to sit on and that's where I ate. It was a glorious lunch spot! (See photo) After lunch I wandered around but was careful to keep well this side of the Chilean Customs building. I was only about three kilometers from the Argentine border and did not wish to accidentally cross over. (See photo) After a while it was time to retrace our steps to Puerto Varas. I am glad I took pictures earlier because the skies had become overcast and the lake was misty. Snow-capped peaks rising up from mountain lakes look most stirring when the weather is bright and sunny. We are due for rain tonight, but it is supposed to be another clear and warm day tomorrow, so I plan to head out on another tour. Say tuned for my next blog, your passport to adventure!


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0396s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb