Cruce de Lagos (Chile)


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Los Lagos » Puerto Varas
November 5th 2008
Published: November 5th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Since watching a travel programme on TV about two years ago, I always wanted to do the Lakes Crossing from Puerto Varas to Barlioche. It is a very expensive way getting from Chile to Argentina but felt it is worth doing the tour for the experience.

I remember the night before, I was concerned about sleeping in and not getting up on time, I need not to have worried as it turned out I got up earlier than scheduled. After breakfast, I checked myself out of the guest house and dragged myself and my luggage to where I met the tour group. I was advised that I should have met elsewhere but no worries.

After stopping at various hotels and picking up other passengers, we made our way to Parque Nacional Vincente Perez Rosales stopping first of all, Saltos del Petrohue. I ran ahead to get the views of the falls to myself before being followed by the crowds!! The falls were pretty even if I did not get excited about them but this comes from seeing many waterfallls on my travels.

We then went on to Petrohue where we joined the boat for the first lake crossing on the Lago Todos Los Santos. It was a wonderful crossing although breezy on the lake. We saw some stunning views of Volcan Osorno and Cerro Bonechelma, which were wrapped around with clouds, sunshine and blue clouds, which is quite a metamorphis. I got chatting to some Brazilians in English and broken Spanish. After 2.5 hours, we arrived in Peulla at the far end of the lake. I had a lovely lunch at the hotel and was not too expensive, which is a bonus considering. There is very little to do in Peulla and although we were offered excursions, I did not partake and my budget did not permit (I want to save money for other things). So it was a matter of waiting for the next leg of the journey, which would eventually lead us into Argentina.

We embarked on a smaller bus, got our Chilean exit stamps, and we began ascending through the Andes. The scenery reminded me of what I have seen from photos of Chile´s Carretera Austral with dense forest and bushes. The road was windy and my ears began popping when ascending. I got a bit worried because the road was very narrow. We
Volcan OsornoVolcan OsornoVolcan Osorno

From Lago Todos Los Santos
never saw any traffic coming in the opposite direction and not many habitants in the area except a sheep farm, border police building and loggers´huts. We saw Monte Tronador in the distance and we stopped and took photos. After 23kms or so, we reached the Argentine border and Parque Nacionale Nahuel Huapi, the oldest national park in South America.




Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

Isla MargaritaIsla Margarita
Isla Margarita

On Lago Todos Los Santos
Cerro BonechemaCerro Bonechema
Cerro Bonechema

On Lago Todos Los Santos
Monte TronadorMonte Tronador
Monte Tronador

On the Chilean/Argentine Border
Leaving ChileLeaving Chile
Leaving Chile

Exiting Chile´s Vincent Perez Rosales National Park
Entering ArgentinaEntering Argentina
Entering Argentina

Entering Argentina´s Nahuel Huapi National Park


Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0342s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb