Independence Day


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Biobío » Chillan
September 19th 2009
Published: September 19th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Photo 1Photo 1Photo 1

Rainbow
We left for Chillan Thursday night. Not a real exciting drive. I was kind of tired and I slept a little bit. We saw a rainbow while we were driving so that was kind of cool. Of course, when we arrived in Chillan we chatted for a little bit and then we ate a little dinner. After that I watched T.V. and chatted with everyone. An aunt and uncle and their two girls were here as well. I would tell you their names but it is too hard to remember who everyone is, kind of like meeting the Hundt family for the first time. You basically won't remember until you've met them a few times.
I stayed up until about midnight. I wasn't sure what time we were leaving in the morning but Jorge had already gone to sleep so I couldn't ask. I slept pretty good. The bed was comfy but I kind of sunk in the middle a bit. I woke up around 8 I think. Jorge and the boys were up. We ate breakfast and got ready to go. We weren't going to leave until around 10. Everyone was anxious so we were just sitting around waiting to
Photo 2Photo 2Photo 2

Rainbow
go. Finally we just left even though we were going to be early.
We were going to the city of Rancagua to watch the Davis Cup. I have honestly never watched a tennis game in my life and I didn't even know the rules but I thought it would be fun to go. We stopped at a gas station on the way to walk around a bit and go to the bathroom. Jorge put the camera on the truck and we took a picture. After that, we drove for awhile more. I didn't know it but we were going to a friend of a friends house to each lunch. They were going to the match also.
We arrived there around 12:30 or 1. I can't remember the name of the town. There were like 5 little boys tearing around the house and a really cute little girl. She just toddled around and saying "mama". She must have liked me though because she was hanging on me. She was too cute. The kids ate first since there wasn't enough room for all of us at the table. While we were waiting, I had a cheese empanada and some sprite. For lunch
Photo 3Photo 3Photo 3

bored in the truck
we had some delicious chicken and rice, and also some good soup. For dessert I tried something new. It was a dried peach. You put some weird looking corn stuff on it.. not really sure what it was.. and then you pour sprite on it. It was alright but peaches aren't my favorite.
After we ate, it was time to go. We still had a ways to drive. Rancagua is near Santiago. I love looking at the mountains while we are driving. They are so beautiful. We finally arrive in Rancagua. We parked the truck, basically half on the curb/half but that's how they do it in Chile. I'm not exactly sure what time it was but I think it was 3:30 or 4.
My host brothers were going with their school or tennis club or something so we had to meet up with them so they could all go in together. This took a while but finally they were in. We had tickets but we had to enter through a different entrance than them. We met up with them inside. The place the match was at was called the "medialuna", which means half-moon. It is usually used for rodeos
Photo 4Photo 4Photo 4

intro
but today, it was tennis. There were concessions and there were booths with companies advertising.
We went up and found our seats. The kids were in a different section than we were. There really wasn't a bad seat in the house. The place wasn't full, probably because it was a national holiday and it started so late in the afternoon. The did a little introduction of the teams and workers. The match was Chile versus Austria. They played the national anthem of each country. Jorge told me that the match was going to be long but I had no idea how long. The first match ended up taking 4 HOURS! It was pretty chilly out and I should have worn more clothes. I had to get up and walk around, go to the bathroom and get tea to warm up after two games of the match. Chile ended up winning.
The people were so into the game, it sure isn't as quiet as it seems on T.V. They yell and scream until the last minute before the player serves. The announcer is constantly telling people to be quiet and sit down. You aren't allowed to walk around at all while
Photo 5Photo 5Photo 5

the players
the games are going on. You might have time to sprint out in between points and there is a little time between games. It was 8:30 when the first game finished. I thought/hope we would leave after that but of course not. There was 20 minutes until the next game.
Jorge went out to the truck and got our bread. While we were waiting, the mother of the guy who had just played was walking around and my host brothers wanted a picture with her, so I took it for them.
I had some more tea and went to the bathroom. I'm still not accustomed to having to pay to go to the bathroom. It isn't like that in all places but in a lot of them so you have to be prepared. We watched the other match for 2 hours. It seemed to be going faster than the first one. I didn't really like the guy in the first match. He just seemed to be acting really obnoxious and I really didn't care if he won except if he didn't, then the match would have went longer.
The Chilean ended up winning the second match but we left before
Photo 6Photo 6Photo 6

Chile
it was over. We left at 10:30. We were all very tired. I slept most of the way home. We stopped at a couple gas stations to use the bathroom but I was too tired to move. We arrived back in Chillan around 2:30 a.m. I got ready for bed and chatted with some family that was till awake.
I woke up the next morning around 9:15. I showered and ate breakfast. I thought we were going to go to a military parade but I guess nobody was ready to go at 11 so we didn't go. Now I have been just sitting here on my computer. The kids are playing ping pong but I don't really like ping-pong. I think we are going to eat lunch in a while then I don't know what we are doing. I think we are staying here tonight again but I am not sure. I kind of want to go to the market or something but we will see. Well that's all for now! Love you!
P.S. I also can't believe that I have been here for a whole month!
P.S.S. I am anxiously awaiting the arrival of my Godson, Arnie. I'm hoping
Photo 7Photo 7Photo 7

I just like the shadow in this one
he will be here any day now!


Additional photos below
Photos: 24, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

Photo 14Photo 14
Photo 14

outside the medialuna
Photo 15Photo 15
Photo 15

after Nico won he threw himself on the ground and took off his shirt
Photo 16Photo 16
Photo 16

the scoreboard
Photo 17Photo 17
Photo 17

how long the first match took
Photo 18Photo 18
Photo 18

my host brothers with Nico's mom. Everyone calls her "tia sofia" which is Aunt Sofia
Photo 19Photo 19
Photo 19

Chile flag in the stands
Photo 20Photo 20
Photo 20

the Austrian player
Photo 21Photo 21
Photo 21

second game
Photo 1Photo 1
Photo 1

scoreboard when we left, game 2
Photo 2Photo 2
Photo 2

Chile player


Tot: 0.115s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 12; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0639s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb