A month later


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Atacama » Cerro Paranal
March 25th 2008
Published: March 25th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I am ashamed of my deliquency but as my students say "the dog ate my homework" No internet for a few weeks then trying to catch up on unread emails took sooooooooo looong
Any way I am here now and there are photos to dress up the events of the past few weeks as soon as I get them off the CD and into my Adobe Photoshop.

The trip to Antfagasta was fraught (love that word) with troubles. Planes that have no pilot and crew and therefore the flight is cancelled. That is a good way to get a very fancy hotel for the night in Miami, but it screws up all the future connections. So the3 next night you get a freebee in Santiago but only for three hours. That is enuff time to eat, take a shower, and get ready to return to the aeroport for an early flight to a final destination. Of course since yu are changing from international to domestic onanother airline you have to haul all your luggae with you. YUK!

Antofagasta is a desolate piece of land in the north of Chile; a barely citified port on the edge of the Atacama Desert allegedly the driest desert in the world. It rained for a few minutes a couple of years ago and people came out to watch. It also is earthquake country . Last November the Richter Scale read 7.7.

Damn I gotta go Back as soonas poss.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0423s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb