Peso less and passport less in Pucon and why I still love Chile


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Araucanía » Pucón
March 17th 2012
Published: March 17th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


Additional maps: chile map

So, disaster. Rushing for the bus I forgot to take my money belt with passport,warrant card and badge,both credit cards and all money from my small bag to put round me..<br style="font-family: arial, sans-serif; font-size: 13px; line-height: normal; background-color: rgba(255, 255, 255, 0.917969);" />Sitting on the bus I nodded off and when I woke up my bag had gone. At one of the small bus stops someone walked off with it. Camera, sungalsses, all my persoanl effects gone.<br style="font-family: arial, sans-serif; font-size: 13px; line-height: normal; background-color: rgba(255, 255, 255, 0.917969);" />Rang Molly who was a star and within 30 mins had numbers to cancel cards.<br style="font-family: arial, sans-serif; font-size: 13px; line-height: normal; background-color: rgba(255, 255, 255, 0.917969);" />Arrive in Valdivia with less than £30 in my pocket. Luckily I am still with Yann who has been a true companeros and as offered to lend me money. Maybe the karma I started in Vietnam when I lent Steve and Griff £200 to ride with me on the motorcycle to Halong Bay is coming back. Who knows but I know without him I would be #ed right now.<br style="font-family: arial, sans-serif; font-size: 13px; line-height: normal; background-color: rgba(255, 255, 255, 0.917969);" />So to the local law in Valdivia to report the theft.<br style="font-family: arial, sans-serif; font-size: 13px; line-height: normal; background-color: rgba(255, 255, 255, 0.917969);" />Tiny little office near the bus station. There are two types of police in Chile. The carabineros (local law for minor issues and security) and Police de Investigations (everything else). Speak to desk officer and explain my position. Luckily an analyst was leaving who spoke english. All of a sudden every ranking officer was around me asking about the British police. Turns out that in the living memory of the station I am the first person ever to report such a crime to them and it threw them into a mass panic.<br style="font-family: arial, sans-serif; font-size: 13px; line-height: normal; background-color: rgba(255, 255, 255, 0.917969);" />However I would have to stay in Valdivia til Monday to collect my official report from the Police de Investigation, where my information would be sent. That was until the major turned up. Word was out, a theft was being reported by a gringo policeman.<br style="font-family: arial, sans-serif; font-size: 13px; line-height: normal; background-color: rgba(255, 255, 255, 0.917969);" />Obviously the place to sort this mess out was Santiago and I needed a report which the junior officers were reluctant to give. Procedure dictated that the Police de Investigation gave it to me. The major however understood the problem and had a report typed out for me there and then to take to Santiago, signed by him, the Chief of Police. Top man. I have promised to send him a plaque when I get home.<br style="font-family: arial, sans-serif; font-size: 13px; line-height: normal; background-color: rgba(255, 255, 255, 0.917969);" />So, not planning to stay in Valdivia and no bus to Pucon until the morning, we wandered around looking for somewhere to stay the night. Most were full but we eventually found the 'Hostel Internacionale' ran by two elderly women. The place was full of Chilean construction workers, most of whom had finished the weeks work and were drunk. They were in great form though. We explained our position and they let us stay for half what they normally charge.<br style="font-family: arial, sans-serif; font-size: 13px; line-height: normal; background-color: rgba(255, 255, 255, 0.917969);" />So put out on faceshit what had happened. Within the hour had a phone call from Andres who I met in my Chiloe hostel.. Andres said I could stay with him and his parents in Santiago. He had spoken to them and they agreed. Andres is off Tuesday and so will go with me to the consulate and Police de Investigations to assist, and provide a secure address for my new credit cards to be sent over.<br style="font-family: arial, sans-serif; font-size: 13px; line-height: normal; background-color: rgba(255, 255, 255, 0.917969);" />Woke up and asked the two ladies if they had a coffee going as the price agreed did not include breakfast. They not only gave us coffee but a full breakfast. For free!<br style="font-family: arial, sans-serif; font-size: 13px; line-height: normal; background-color: rgba(255, 255, 255, 0.917969);" />Chiloen people are the best people<br style="font-family: arial, sans-serif; font-size: 13px; line-height: normal; background-color: rgba(255, 255, 255, 0.917969);" />So, charge to the bus for Pucon where I am writing this entry and link up with Karina (Peurto Varas). Two nights there and then an unplanned trip to Santiago to assess where I stand and whether I can get a replacement passport in time to cross into Peru in seven weeks time. I am flying out of Peru but if there is no passport then I will have to fly from Chile and forego the Inca trail. Time will tell. For now I have a soulmate for life in the form of Yann, who knows that wherever I am in the world in the future it's 'me casa tu casa'. Disco out.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.11s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 65; dbt: 0.077s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb