Pucón - Geologists' Dream?


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Araucanía » Pucón
February 23rd 2008
Published: February 25th 2008
Edit Blog Post

The border crossingThe border crossingThe border crossing

I was glad for once the officials were taking their time.
After a short transit stop in San Martín, we headed back across the border to Chile. The border crossing itself was spectacular, with huge forests of amazing Monkey-Puzzle trees beneath the enormous shadow of one of the regions numerous stratovolcanos, all laid our for us to take in under brilliant sparkling sunshine. Had we thought about it we might have allowed a bit of time to explore the National Park, but it's always nice to save something for later, isn't it?

Pucón was a great little town, very lively and full of personality. I was glad to get back to Chile as well, as the people are so friendly and unassuming, even if their Spanish is impossible to understand. We found a fantastic place to stay, which was really cheap with a lovely owner, Monica (cheap because she was unregistered, I think). After a quick lunch it was time for us to face the hard-sell tactics of the dozens of tour operators; a tour is essential if you want to climb the Volcan Villarica, the town's main attaction. We found one that was OK, but at the last minute I decided that I probably shouldn't go, as the effects of
The view from halfway upThe view from halfway upThe view from halfway up

He is so lucky! I would have loved to have seen that view.
my nasty cold were still lingering. I was desperately unhappy the next morning as we woke and I said goodbye to Pete for the day, knowing that he was going to see lava and some of the youngest rocks around and I was missing out! He took plenty of pictures, although he forgot to bring a rock back for me. He had a relatively easy trip up, since there were some 'slow girls' in the group. The group caught a ski lift partway up, then as they neared the summit they were treated to spectacular views - as the photos show. Man I was jealous when I saw that! Apparently the summit was quite toxic, not dissimilar to a bad day at the old coreshed in Isa, I imagine. Then on the way down they slid down the slopes on man-made slides in the ice.

That afternoon when he returned, I decided that I couldn't miss out so we went back to the tour agency and I booked a tour for myself the next day, but when it was my turn to wake up early and set out for the tour, the weather was terrible and you couldn't even
The summit of Volcan Villarica The summit of Volcan Villarica The summit of Volcan Villarica

Pete being a proud geologist
see the mountain. After half an hour of phone calls and waiting in the tour agency's office, the tour was cancelled for the day and I reluctantly asked for my money back. I couldn't postpone the trip as we had already booked our bus ticket out of Pucon... so like Bariloche, we have a reason to return to Pucon one day.....


Advertisement



Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0736s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb