A catch...


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Araucanía » Pucón
January 13th 2008
Published: January 24th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I have suffered both triumph and trauma on the journey. Kate and I have been throwing the odd line into a river/lake in the hope of providing some trout for dinner. After some superb site selection, combined with cunning and masterful technique, it was to my great delight that I succeeded in the first and only catch of our short fishing season (contrary to popular belief, I´m not at all competitive). This glorious event also combined to mark as my first ever catch. However not seconds after my triumphant chorus I soon realised the beautiful creature I had whisked out of it´s natural habitat lay flapping in slow death throws on the rocks with a hook protruding through it´s eye. "Oh god, I have to kill it!" My sheltered and gentle up bringing has not required the taking of another animals life. Not knowing how hard to hit the poor creature I gathered a suitable sized stone and thumped it on the head 3x with the wish of a swift and merciful end.

Still in a state of shock I returned to the tranquil camp site, catch tenuously still suspended, at arms length, on the hook.
A roar of laughter erupted from the ungrateful dining patrons. "That´s the smallest fish I have ever seen!"
Not overly tactfully it was deemed trout would be an entree as opposed to a main dish. The character building experience followed through to the filleting and unfortunately the loss of the tail and head which then allowed it to just fit in the very large pan.
With the untimely death of said pescado weighing heavily on my mind (if not the scales) the next days riding saw us climb through a remote gravel border crossing to Argentina. The morning tea bell hadn't yet rung when two well intentioned, airport destined, ladies pulled over to offer the suffering cycle tourists their excess food. Well bugger me if I didn't have to sit down and devour a large, succulent, marinated slab of cow at 10am. Feeling sick to the stomach with even bite, I quitely admitted on the arduous completion that I needed to have some serious words with the vegetarians and buddhists in my life! I believe Kate may well have had the last laugh (in fact she is still laughing).








Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



24th January 2008

Is that a tea spoon???
29th January 2008

No, it´s a bloody great soup ladle, that´s enough from the Downers!

Tot: 0.039s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.022s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb