Lake District - Chile


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Araucanía » Pucón
January 16th 2008
Published: January 25th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hello from the Lake District. It is beautiful. Very like the lake district or Wales at home. We are staying on a beautiful farm and having homemade meals and homemade bread, jam and cheese for breakfast. The family are lovely too.
So we are back on the activities...first day was great we walked along the road to some hot springs as it was a little overcast then decided to walk the cross country way back as the sun had come out. So we walk through beautiful countryside for about 2 hours until we come to the river and we remember that the lady told us that the boat to cross the river was not working.....we could see it on the otherside. Dean strips off to his boxers and decides to brave the river..it was baltic. He swims across to free the boat but it is chained up. To deep to wade across with our bag so decide we will have to walk back. As dean is swimming back this man literally appears from nowhere swinging the key on a chain laughing at the tourist swimming in his boxers!! Maybe you had to be there but very amusing.

Next day we tackled the horseriding. Great fun even better for me as my horse kicked Deans butt so for once I won the competion and for those of you that know Dean well most things are a competion!! I was a very happy lady but it didnt last long. Day 3 was climbing an active volcano to wake at 3.30am.

Alarm ringing pitch black outside I wonder how on earth I have got myself into this situation. We arrive at shop and are kitted up with boots big heavy things like ski boots, ice pick, crampons, helmet and waterproofs off it is in the bus.

We descended from the bus backpacks on in the pitch black which I guess was a good thing as I couldnt see where I was going. Uphill it was along a shingle path that very annoyingly followed the chair lift up (not working...otherwise I would have been on it) and yes I tripped on the way up and have a bruised hand and we hadn´t even reached the volcano. We got to the top of the chair lift and the ascent was to begin. The views were incredible but the climb and the howling wind not so great. I think at one point unsurprisingly for me I even considered turning back but Dean was having done of it......thank goodness to him I made it to the top. I was told I would see the lava bubbling at the top....but guess what it was too windy and all I got was a big massive puffs of toxic smoke!!! The way down was great fun as we got to slid down these tracks on our bums like human tobbogans the best bit for me.

Day 4 we went hydrobaording. Which is where you hang on to a big float and go down th white water rapids in the river. Great fun but very tiring and belly full of river water at the end.

The Lake District has been great fun and full of activity it is now time to head o to the Argentinian side of the Lake District. Another Stamp in the passport.
xx


Advertisement



Tot: 0.117s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.09s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb