¡Mapuche! Chile's side of Patagonia: Las Capillas de Marmol y Coyhaique


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Aisén » Coyhaique
January 22nd 2013
Published: January 22nd 2013
Edit Blog Post

We took a bus to Rio Tranquilo to see the marble caves. We made several stops Along the way to see the vistas, rivers, volcanoes, the dead forest, to pick and eat calafate berries. We got a boat and toured the marble caves. They were spectacular. On the way back we stopped to find huemules in the woods, they are very similar to deer. They are endangered so we were lucky to find them.

The next day I hiked through Coyhaique to the nature reserve. I got lost a few times and the last 1.5 km uphill in the blazing sun exhausted me before I even got to the reserve. Nonetheless, I hiked to the Laguna Verde where I sat and watched the fish leaping out of the water for almost an hour before I headed back.


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

El calafateEl calafate
El calafate

Yummy!! And they make a nice beer.
huemulhuemul
huemul

We saw a female in the woods too.


23rd January 2013

What a Trip
I just wanted to let you know how much I am enjoying your trip. Your pictures are fantastic and your experiences are grand. Thank you for taking the time to include us on your journey. Enjoy! I look forward to more....
20th February 2013

So beautiful
Amazing photos!

Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0508s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb