Sao Paulo Pride Parade 2006


Advertisement
Brazil's flag
South America » Brazil » São Paulo
June 19th 2006
Published: June 23rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Picture 1Picture 1Picture 1

Before the parade...
It has only been three days but I am allready completely in love with this place! Before I came I heard so many bad things about Sao Paulo but this city is nothing like I expected. The people are amazing and always seem to have a big smile on their face. It is much cleaner and wealthier than I expected. The food is amazing and the boys.....HELLO CHRISTMAS!!! (as Jan would say). Jardins where we are staying could be a neighbourhood in Sydney or Los Angeles only much much bigger...and I haven't been robbed or kidnapped...or even ripped of by a taxi driver even though I definately dont look like a local. It's an amazing city...and I will definately come back here many times if I can help it...

On Saturday we walked up to Paulista Avenue which is the main business street in Sao Paulo to watch the Pride Parade. It all started at 2pm. Unlike the Sydney Mardigras the parade is not very political (although I think 'Homophobia is a crime' was the theme this year) but just a big celebration. And people here are all about celebrating! 2 million people, gay, straight, trannies, whole families and old
Picture 2Picture 2Picture 2

Before the parade...
ladies, all joined the parade which turned into one huge out of control street party. It was amazing! I have never experienced anything like it! The atmosphere, the people, the music...we danced for about 6 hours and 4km straight before we crawled back to our hotel and collapsed for a few hours before heading out for one last party at The Week.






Additional photos below
Photos: 25, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Picture 3Picture 3
Picture 3

Before the parade...
Picture 4Picture 4
Picture 4

The Parade...
Picture 5Picture 5
Picture 5

The Parade...
Picture 6Picture 6
Picture 6

The Parade...
Picture 7Picture 7
Picture 7

The Parade...
Picture 8Picture 8
Picture 8

The Parade...
Picture 9Picture 9
Picture 9

The Parade...
Picture 10Picture 10
Picture 10

Oh Jan...
Picture 11Picture 11
Picture 11

The Parade...
Picture 12Picture 12
Picture 12

The Parade...
Picture 13Picture 13
Picture 13

The Parade...
Picture 14Picture 14
Picture 14

The Parade...
Picture 15Picture 15
Picture 15

The Parade...
Picture 16Picture 16
Picture 16

The Parade...
Picture 17Picture 17
Picture 17

The Parade...
Picture 18Picture 18
Picture 18

The Parade...
Picture 19Picture 19
Picture 19

The Parade...
Picture 22Picture 22
Picture 22

The Parade...
Picture 23Picture 23
Picture 23

The Parade...
Picture 24Picture 24
Picture 24

Look at the kitty cat!
Picture 25Picture 25
Picture 25

The Parade...


24th June 2006

Ja tack idag!!
Hello handsomes! It seems like you're having the time of your lives ... at this moment it's midsummer eve (or morning) and I'm quite happy :) Fred: I've got I new job!!! I miss you!!!! Take care. /Eva
27th June 2006

You Blend so well
Nice one boys, looks as though your having so much FUN! Love it... keep up the photos and keep having fun Copya both XX
10th July 2006

Sweet!
Unfortunately the newspapers are not attractive that much without tragedy and bad news... it's all they do when talking about Brasil. But you already saw the truth about us by yourself. I just want to say that "celebrating" is our way to make things "political", and it's work! :) I'm Kelly, Brasilian (Paulistana) and I was born exactly in Jardins where you've been. I know exactly what you're talking about, boys! I live in Italy now and hate this place... you don't know how much I miss my city, my country, my people and their big smiles on their faces :)

Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0533s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb