First days in Campinas


Advertisement
Brazil's flag
South America » Brazil » São Paulo
July 28th 2008
Published: July 28th 2008
Edit Blog Post

After what seemed like an eternity travelling, I finally arrived in Campinas. My flight was cancelled before I even left Kansas City, so I took off a day later than I had planned. Nearly six hours in Washington Dulles airport, then an overnight flight to São Paulo, where I was trapped for two hours with no access to internet, nor access to a cash machine so I could buy breakfast, then to Rio, then back to Campinas which is only about an hour from São Paulo...it was easier to fly to China! Anyway, I made it, and Pedro and his dad were waiting for me, and they took me immediately to their house and fed me feijoada...mmmmm.

Since then, i have been here in the Casa Pontes with the whole family, who are really funny and super nice, mostly hanging out at home but we have gone out into the city some too...the the ´hippie fair´twice, and to ´the shopping´ (the mall) and last night to a wiskey bar with Pedro´s sister Marina and her boyfriend. Mostly, it has all been intensive training of my Portuguese, of which I am learning alot. They all swear people will understand me just
Campinas city-scapeCampinas city-scapeCampinas city-scape

Taken from Pedro´s gramda´s window - twelfth story apartment...
fine when I start my research, but I guess that remains to be seen. Anyway, that´s why this is the most boring blog entry ever - i promise some more enlightening entries after I start doing some work tomorrow...but I am posting some pictures to give you an idea of Campinas and to show you Pedro´s family.....até mais!


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

City PraçaCity Praça
City Praça

Pedro and I took a walk all through town, starting in the less-nice part of town and going to the best part of town - this park is in a good part of town....
Farmer´s marketFarmer´s market
Farmer´s market

closing down, but still so much fruit!
Farmer´s marketFarmer´s market
Farmer´s market

mmmm, fruit....
Wiskey BarWiskey Bar
Wiskey Bar

Pedro´s sister, Marina, and her boyfriend
the grandmothersthe grandmothers
the grandmothers

Drinking coffee with Pedro´s grandmothers - actually his grandmother and her sister, but they have never lived apart, even when his grandmother was married to his grandfather....
Sunday afternoonSunday afternoon
Sunday afternoon

The granmothers and Pedro´s mom, Maria
Sunday afternoonSunday afternoon
Sunday afternoon

Marina, me, and Pedro


28th July 2008

I can't wait for more!
Jon and I think you need more picture of your food!
29th July 2008

food
I am collecting pictures of food - will make a food post sometime this week, just for you guys... :)

Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0435s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb