The Portuguese words for "bread" and "penis" are way too similar


Advertisement
Brazil's flag
South America » Brazil » São Paulo » Campinas
August 15th 2011
Published: August 15th 2011
Edit Blog Post

minha familia brasileiraminha familia brasileiraminha familia brasileira

Angela, her brother and sister-in-law, and her mom (minha avoa)
Today is my third day in Brazil! I am already starting to speak English in my head with a Portuguese accent. The first thing I learned was that Brazilians understand Spanish, but if you speak Spanish you can't understand Portuguese. So I guess this is what you would call intensive language immersion.


Douglas and Angela have been so nice and welcoming. They are helping me find a job teaching english and working at a children's cancer hospital. They have two daughters, Alicia is 11 and Marina is 4.

I live in a really cool neighborhood in a small town about an hour away from Sao Paulo, the big city (bigger than LA). The neighborhood has its own lake and a FOREST FULL OF MONKEYS. Yeah, I have monkeys in my backyard. NBD.

Yesterday was the Brazilian Father's Day, so we had a barbecue here. Everybody is so nice and the food is so good. But in some ways it's very different from the U.S. For example, they sell carrots in balls and eat robin eggs on salads.

Later this week I'm going to stay in the city and explore for a few days and apply for jobs. I met a math teacher at an American school here, and maybe I can work at the hospital too. The weather is so nice I just want to be outside all the time! Even though it's winter here, every day is like 70-80º!

Pictures: Scroll down for more pictures! Click on them to make them bigger.















































Here are some pictures of the monkeys! They are so cute! Me, Alicia, Marina, and Sophia walked over yesterday and fed them bananas.



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Photo 8Photo 8
Photo 8

this is to the left of the house. to the right is the monkey forest!!


15th August 2011

OMFG!
I will never get over the fact that you have monkeys in your backyard!

Tot: 0.134s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 13; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0512s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb