The girls from Ipanema


Advertisement
Brazil's flag
South America » Brazil » Rio de Janeiro
March 2nd 2005
Published: March 2nd 2005
Edit Blog Post

RioRioRio

First Caipirinhas at a kiosk in Rio
Yep we are still here! Ginny arrived on Sunday and was very lucky that I was there to meet her considering I had two hours of sleep the night before. I had been checking out a night club in Leblon with some of the other travellers. Sunday in Rio when it is hot and sunny? One place to go and that is the beach! We were installed with the usual hustle and bustle that is Ipanema. It was fantastic. One thing to note J Baptista - Caipirinha man has not been sighted. I suppose without one Budha it would not make sense to have the other one! Also went to the hippy market which is as lovely as ever, sunset at the beach with a caipirinha and then on to a Churrasco. I was inpressed - I dont think I have ever seen Ginny eat so much.

Unfortunately the weather changed on Sunday so there have been lots of clouds. Sugar Loaf was clear but we got to the top to find that Cristo was covered by clouds. We did not manage to see him as he has been under clouds ever since. We decided it means we will need to come back again!

Last night we celebrated Ginny´s Birthday at the Academia de Cachaca. I am finally getting to grips with it and have tried all sorts of variations - strawberries, pineapple, orange and ginger, passion fruit, cinamon and condensed milk, creme de cacao etc - no not just in one night!

We are about to head off to the Rodovaria with the tunrstile buses so we can get our ruck sacks stuck and have a 22 bus ride to Foz! I am sure it will be worth it. So good bye from Rio for now.....

PS excuse the spelling - no check on this computer!

Photos can be seen at http://pg.photos.yahoo.com/ph/foodiefloozie/my_photos

Advertisement



Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 62; dbt: 0.0452s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb