Rio de Janeiro, Day 3


Advertisement
Brazil's flag
South America » Brazil » Rio de Janeiro
February 25th 2006
Published: February 28th 2006
Edit Blog Post

The Maracana StadiumThe Maracana StadiumThe Maracana Stadium

The home of legends. Flamengo 3 v Botafogo 2, an exciting game
After a bit of a lay in after a big night at the Red and Black ball, me and a friend got up and dragged ourselves to the beach.

Not just any beach, but one of the most famous in the world, Copacabana!!! It was great weather and the beach was busy. I had a quick swim, and we just chilled out and people watched. We were just outside the Copacbana Palace Hotel, where the Rolling Stones and Madonna reportedly stayed just the week before. Again its like you are in a postcard, unreal!!

We left the beach and made our way back to the hotel for 2pm. The next unreal adventure would take us to one of the most famous football stadiums in the world, the Maracana. We got there in good time, and bought tickets to see Flamengo v Botafogo. A league match, and a local derby, how much better could it be! Flamengo are the biggest supported team, but Botafogo are Brasilian Champions. We got a great view right on the half-way line, and with the manic Flamengo fans. The stadium is having lots of work done to it, the whole bottom section is being renovated,
Flamengo v BotafogoFlamengo v BotafogoFlamengo v Botafogo

A big Derby match between these two Rio teams. Flamengo are the biggest supported club. Botafogo are Champions!
its an old stadium, but its still amazing to be there. It was a great game, including 3 amazing goals, and Flamengo won 3-2 after being 2-1 down!!! The atmosphere was electric, especially from the Flamengo fans. Another great experience.

Then back through the traffic to the hotel. The traffic was busy as roads were closed as the Carnaval had started. You could hear drums and music beating all over the City wherever you were, and processions of people dancing through the streets. The official Carnaval was in the Sambadrome on Sunday night.

We reached the hotel, and I had to pack up my things as tonight was my last night in Rio. It had come so fast. I said goodbye to as many people as possible in my group, although not a lot of them, as we had all got split up at the football. I left a farewell note though in the hotel reception. I had been travelling in this group across South America for nearly two months, and made friends with some great people, who hopefully will stay in touch with. Then me and my room-mates bought a few snacks and some drink to have
In my Flamengo shirtIn my Flamengo shirtIn my Flamengo shirt

On top of Sugar Loaf Mountain the day before
in our hotel room, and we ended up going to a club in Copacabana. I felt really tired and had to be up at 6am, so I got a taxi back to the hotel for a couple of hours at least kip.

I looked out of our hotel window, and the City is all lit up, and is spectacular. It really is an incredible place, and of all the places I have been to, I will definately try and come back here one day. Maybe next Carnaval....


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Palm TreesPalm Trees
Palm Trees

Coming back to the hotel after the thrill of hangliding, as the sun begins to set over the City


Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 13; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0591s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb