Arrival Week 1


Advertisement
Brazil's flag
South America » Brazil » Rio de Janeiro
April 9th 2009
Published: April 9th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Tor (currently writing)
So we arrived in South America a week ago today and already it feels so much longer.
Was relieved to get the hard part of all the goodbyes done and dusted as they had started about a month ago and thats all a bit stressful to be honest. So once all the goodbyes at Heathrow (new terminal 5 don tya know) were done we took off about 2pm, and once we were soaring through the air and a few gin and tonics later all my anxiety seemed to slowly drip away altho little did I know more was to come. I did however at time have major surges of anger at the small children sat behind me why are their legs the perfect length for digging into your back and I love kids but Jeez that was pushing my patience but a few evil stares form me and they soon knew to stop. Manage dto watch about three films en route, Benjamin Button (great) Good Will Hunting (never fails) and Control (biog of Ian Curtis very very depressing! I even wanted to kill myself by the end). Anyway enough about planes and films as that is the dull bit. 11 hours later and we land in RIO!!!!!!!
I need to lose some things from my rucksack because it is painfully heavy and just the walk from baggage reclaim to the cab my legs felt they were getting ground shorter and shorter.
Taxi to hostel all good and safe and altho at the time me and Laus probably looked like two rabbits caught in headlights we arrived in relatively good spirits but very exhausted. The first hostel Che Legarto was far busier than I expected it was full of people and music and a bar so we dumped our killer rucksacks in our room and went down to just grab a drink altho we actually went to the little hut on the corner and just bought water then realised we were too knackered to do anything else than go to bed.
I awoke the next day at 7.45am and altho I was busting for a wee I couldnt quite face the gag inducing toilets (they stank of pure amonia) managed to get a few more hours then a shower and a breakfast lter hit the road to explore. Ok so from what I have gathered a typical brazillian breakfast is in fact a roll with ham and cheese, fruit and get this....lau loves this......cake!!!! for breakfast yummy too.
It had been puring with rain when we awoke so we had packed up anoraks and all sorts into our backpacks only to find as soon as we got to the end of the street the sun came out and all was scorching!
So we explored the beach of Ipanema which then leads onto the Copacabana from both of these spots you can see the Christ the Redeemer staue and Sugar loaf mountain to be able to see these for real rather than in a picture was amazing. Then we had a GENIUS idea lets stop for a Caiparinhia! one turned into 2 and before we knew it we were both pissed! dam those things are stronger than you think they are going to be, lau at one point was worried that her legs werent going to work when we stood up luckily they did, this day resulting in us staggering back to the hostel at 4 in the afternoon for a nap. Have much more to follow but am off for a spot of lunch now! more ham and cheese rolls methinks.........tbc.........

Advertisement



10th April 2009

YAY, an update!!!
I cannot believe no one has made a comment yet!! Sounds AMAZING my darlings, i so wish i was with you both.. :( It's just gone 1am and i've only just got in from work, but i won't bore you with all that shit now. I just wanted to say that i honestly miss you both as if i have lost my arms or something. It's so hard not being able to just call either of you when i want to (something i'm gonna have to get used to pretty quickly or i'll crack up) I've been checking out where you are whenever you update the location, it looks so wonderful and i can't wait to see your first lot of pics. Aww, i'm so glad that you're settled a bit now. That's wicked news. It makes me happy :). Ok i'm gonna hit the sack now cuz i'm SO TIRED.. At least i have 4 days off now cuz it's Bank holiday Easter Weekend!! Woot. Gonna cut the grass tomorrow if it doesn't rain.. Oh what fun i'm having. I lead the most exciting life ever!! haha. LOVE YOU GUYS!!! Me xxxx

Tot: 0.129s; Tpl: 0.077s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0382s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb