Carnaval (Chapter 4 Flags, Drags and an Afro!)


Advertisement
Brazil's flag
South America » Brazil » Rio de Janeiro » Rio de Janeiro » Lapa
February 4th 2008
Published: February 12th 2008
Edit Blog Post

The Dream Team!The Dream Team!The Dream Team!

Check it out! Not a bad effort eh....especially Shaun as Goldilocks, Todd (big dude at the back) as a strong man and King Bradley in the front row!
Day 4 of the Carnaval and the idea is as follows, we get afro wigs, Brazilian flags and make some kind of silly outfits out of them! Cool idea huh...after all everybody in this town is in party mood!!

Now obviously the plan doesn´t just involve dressing up like fools and sitting around quietly in our respective hostels, far from it! We are off to a Beer Ball at the Scala nightclub in Leblon! Now basically that means you pay 50 Reais (about 15 of your hard earned British pounds!) and that gets you entry and as much beer as you can drink! We all meet in Sarah and Shauns hostel, the other two Kiwis Hamish and Katie have bought us all Brazilian flags but alas no afros as they were too expensive! With this in mind and trust me, my hair is getting pretty thick now, I grab a handful of elephant jizz (thats hair wax/cream to normal folk) and make ny hair look as big as I can! It looks pretty good early on (I have absolutely no doubts it will be massively fluffly by the end of the evening!)

So most people opt for a toga
Abraham Lincoln in Drag or what!Abraham Lincoln in Drag or what!Abraham Lincoln in Drag or what!

Nah its just Ben, camping it up as usual!
style dress, I have always rather fancied myself as a bit of a superhero, so I go for the cape! Then we all paint our faces up with green glitter and head off into the night looking for the Scala club! Now I have to admit, the 11 of us sat on the bus to the other side of town did look quite amusing. I couldn´t however help but feel a tad naked...I mean how many times in your life do you venture out at night wearing nada but a flag, a pair of boardshorts and some flipflops....rarely I would guess. So on the way there we get beeped and lots of people chanting Brazil, Brazil at us!! Which is pretty cool! We also joke about how funny it would be if when we arrived nobody else was dressed up! Bet you can´t guess what happened next! Thats right, bar a few people wearing brightly coloured wigs, nobody else had really gone to too much trouble, not only that, the club had put the price up to 80 Reais!! This meant half of us couldn´t get in and no way were we gonna split the dream team up, so we
Oh dear god!!Oh dear god!!Oh dear god!!

Everyone´s at it! Look at the nails! (Its Colin Farrell in Miami Vice!)
settled on plan B heading to Lapa, the party capital of Rio! (well there´s bound to be something going on there!) Of course en-route we did accidently go via a gay party on the streets of Ipanema (you actually had to walk through it to get to the other side of the road!...not a good time to feel so naked, I can assure you!)

Well our instincts were right, when we arrived in Lapa, there was a huge open air concert going on right there in the centre of the park beneath the Aquaduct! So we enjoy some sausages on a stick (the snack food of choice here in Rio) which amuses everyone greatly as they discover the game´lets see hom many sticks my bushy hair can hold!´ We then get our groove on and everyone is having a really good time, especially Ben when he unleashes his secret weapon! A monkey g-string that when touched makes a chimp like noise! Though this is absolutely hysterical, it does show off all of his arse and a consideral amount of pubes. Nice. Strangely enough we didn´t see him for much of the rest of the night as he became a
Blimey, the celebs keep rolling in...Blimey, the celebs keep rolling in...Blimey, the celebs keep rolling in...

bumped into Dame Edna on the Bus!!
bit of a local celebrity, everybody seemed to want a piece of the monkey! Until a policemen told him to put it away! ( that reminds me, I think I owe that nice man some money!!)

When it all dies off a bit, we roam the streets until we run into the Budget Expeditions group me and Chris met at the footy, and they duly invite us all back to their hotel again where we party until the wee hours of the morning!

Another rocking night in Rio and incase you are wondering, YES my hair was huge at the end of the night, we are talking Godzilla size fluffy!













Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

The hair is taking over!!The hair is taking over!!
The hair is taking over!!

Oh man....evil geniuses shouldn´t have to ride the bus, bet Blofeld didn´t have to!!
My impression of that game Ker-plunk!My impression of that game Ker-plunk!
My impression of that game Ker-plunk!

Amazingly all these sticks are literally just being held in my hair!! (hey check me out....im the Statue of Liberty!)
Whoop Aiya Lapa, Ayia Lapa, Aiya Lapa!!!!!!Whoop Aiya Lapa, Ayia Lapa, Aiya Lapa!!!!!!
Whoop Aiya Lapa, Ayia Lapa, Aiya Lapa!!!!!!

Lapa...aka the Rio party zone! (The main feature being the Aquaduct)
Party!!!!Party!!!!
Party!!!!

Well every party needs its drunken English and Antipodean revellers!!
Is it a Bird, Is it a Plane????Is it a Bird, Is it a Plane????
Is it a Bird, Is it a Plane????

You cannot harm me, my erm sarong is like a shield of steel!
Super Dick!! (I think that name speaks for itself!)Super Dick!! (I think that name speaks for itself!)
Super Dick!! (I think that name speaks for itself!)

Camper than a Julian Clary!! Wittier than a Graham Norton!!
My alter ego.....My alter ego.....
My alter ego.....

Bet my cunning civilian disguise had you all fooled!
Rock in Rio!!!Rock in Rio!!!
Rock in Rio!!!

The gang celebrating in er...style!
Glowstick Hairband!! (Saint Dicki of Partyville!)Glowstick Hairband!! (Saint Dicki of Partyville!)
Glowstick Hairband!! (Saint Dicki of Partyville!)

Who would have thought hairbands could be such fun!
I´d have a better caption but....I´d have a better caption but....
I´d have a better caption but....

I truly have no idea what im trying to do in this picture!
Don´t feed the animals!Don´t feed the animals!
Don´t feed the animals!

and beware of the pant moustache!


Tot: 0.353s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 14; qc: 61; dbt: 0.147s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb