Favella Funk Party


Advertisement
Brazil's flag
South America » Brazil » Rio de Janeiro » Rio de Janeiro » Copacabana
October 22nd 2006
Published: December 8th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Ok so am not sure that words are going to do this night any justice but I will try to explain the best that I can so you can imagine.

Background:

Favella basically means shanty town, look at my Favella Tour for more info.

The Favella Funk party is basically a nightclub in the middle of one of the biggest Favella sites in Rio and there is approximately 3,000 people partying hard in this big Favella, straight to Gay and from poor to rich. Hence the reason why you are not allowed to take cameras in because apparently Brazilian football stars are often partying (with another girl other than they should be).

Music: Brazilian Funk and a little bit of Reggae and hip hop

I was on my way to being drunk after the football but on arriving at this Favella soon sobered up.

This place is amazing. Basically everybody gets down and dirty bumping and grinding to make any hip hop video look tame.....I didn’t know that it was possible for girls to move their ass so much without moving their feet not just girls but guys as well. We had guest list which allowed us up stairs in the relative safety of the booths and perfect positioning to watch all.

Half way through the night a compare gets on stage and there is a dance off between these Brazilians (God how they move). This dance off is between gays and straights and one of their party tricks is to see who can bum shuffle from one side of the stage to the other (yes it looks painful but bloody funny). Another act was two guys bumping grinding and then picking each other up so the ones legs are wrapped around the others shoulders while still bumping and grinding (better than anything Patrick Swayze got up to in Dirty Dancing). The finale was this girl (so I thought) up on stage jumping up and down doing the splits over and over again. The compare started shouting then everybody in the club started whistling and screaming really loud but I didn’t know why. I later asked somebody who spoke Portuguese what it was all about and basically the compare had said "If you think that she has had the operation whistle?" - How funny, it was obviously a transsexual Ay?

Well after all this spectating I finally got the courage to go and get down and dirty with the locals. Under normal circumstances if a guy back home starts grinding up and down you he would get a right hook but here you have to act like a local and grind back........What a laugh - For those of you who have been witness to my sister moves I just put them into action and was surrounded by highly sexed sweaty Brazilians. By the end of it I was as wet as if I’d been in Subway (in fact this place has drips from the ceiling like Subway and lots of other similarities).
I soon realised that I had lost everybody and it was nearly time to shut. The place was so busy it was hard to find anyone but eventually I found a guy from my hostel that I had never even spoke to and just told him that he was not to leave without me!!

The journey home we all swapped stories (there was a few to swap I tell you) and there had even been a guy who while in the toilets stood next to another Brazilian with a gun down the back of his jeans. We thought that when the driver/guide said that the shootings start at 5am he was joking but in fact it’s all true!

However after seeing sunset while driving back we arrived back at the hostel all safe and sound and continued to party for a few hours longer and see who the best bum shuffler in the group was.

Am back in Rio in March so will try and smuggle a camera in because you guys really need to see footage of this crazy stuff.



Advertisement



20th December 2006

Flavella Party
I think i would just fit right in ... in fact i shall start my bum shuffling now!!!! But nat you sure it was sweat and not all that gringo grinding that made ya wet luv??????

Tot: 0.147s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 52; dbt: 0.114s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb