Married in Paraty!


Advertisement
Brazil's flag
South America » Brazil » Rio de Janeiro » Paraty
May 8th 2009
Published: May 13th 2009
Edit Blog Post

When I last wrote we had made it to the bus station in Rio. Next stage was to purchase tickets for Paraty. After a bit of searching we found the correct operator and asked if they spoke English. No, so Brim, using the worst rough guide phrase book in the history of phrase books managed to ask for 2 tickets. With a bit of pointing at the computer (computer said yes!) the tickets were purchased. With about 10/15 minutes to spare we loaded our bags (with appropriate baggage stickers attached) onto the coach and settled down. A few minutes later having sat down we were asked to move - apparently we had seat numbers! The coach, was actually not bad and there was considerable more room than on the BA flight. 4.5 hours past rainforest covered hills and villages we arrived in Paraty. Paraty is a beautiful town with cobbled streets, old colonial buildings and sandy beach. The streets are full of little shops selling both tourist gifts, paintings and other art work. Along the cobbled streets are various vendors who create hand made jewellery. There was even a pirate walking around - less a parrot! Bags on back we walked to hostel - 10 minutes turned into 20 but the hostel, Misti Chilli, had a beach view and was more upmarket than Rio despite costing less! Brim and I lucked out on sharing a 6 bed dorm with ensuite all to ourselves. Following the hectic pace of Rio we decided to chill out in Paraty. We wandered around the historical centre, spent a few hours needed relaxation by the beach with our beers. I found myself trying to order a menu in Portuguese from said rough guide book, only to find the waiter laughing at what I was saying. A nearby patron even stepped in to help! Anyway menu sought, Brimelow was prepared to talk to me again following the embarrassment!!!!
As part of my language learning skills I also tried to have a conversation with a Brasilian, Canella, who was staying at the hostel - he only spoke Portuguese I only speak English and was using the phrase book! Suffice to say we had a very strange conversation of sorts but I learnt a few words. Canella was from Sao Paulo but in Paraty making and selling copper bracelets and earrings. As he was busy working away he made me a ring and placed it on my wedding finger! I responded in Portuguese 'married' and he said yes. SO, folks looks like in Paraty I am married but I think as it was not an official ceremony I am available for further proposals across the world 😊 Brim bless her, kept chuckling away at my efforts and even helped me out with some translations from babelfish!
You also need to check out BrimĀ“s blog for a picture of me selling Canella's jewellery on the streets of Paraty. He said he was cold and asked us to watch his 'stall' for 5 mins! He disappeared and we realised if anyone wanted to buy anything we wouldn't have a clue!!! Thankfully my husband 😊 came back and we quickly walked back to hostel before getting into any more favours 😊

Despite loving the peaceful and laidback atmosphere of Paraty it was time to move on, albeit reluctantly. Before we left however, we had another expedition into town to buy stamps for postcards and coach tickets for Sao Paulo. First task, stamps, the Paraty post office is very similar to UK ones. One person, a long line of people and no sense of urgency. Following more broken Portuguese and pointing we had our stamps and posted the cards. Bartons I have to apologise that (should you receive the cards) half of my text is now covered by stamps. Having left a generous space we didn't account for 3 stamps per card!!!! Cards posted, we headed to the bus station and purchased our tickets for Sao Paulo. Following the success in Rio we purchased our tickets without too much of an issue and smugly headed back to the beach.

Last night in Paraty was a BBQ at the hostel. Brim and I met a number of travellers, one of whom, a Canadian kindly pointed out that when we go to Argentina we should not mention the Falklands! As Brim and I are obviously idiots any other tips on common sense appreciated 😊

Journey to Foz De Iguazu to follow....



Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Cobbled streets in historic centreCobbled streets in historic centre
Cobbled streets in historic centre

No motorcars allowed :)
Brim in the sunshineBrim in the sunshine
Brim in the sunshine

She is literally going to kill me for putting this picture on!


Tot: 0.115s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 15; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0571s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb