Journey to Ihla Grande


Advertisement
Brazil's flag
South America » Brazil » Rio de Janeiro » Ilha Grande
January 10th 2009
Published: March 23rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

This was going to be tight as I was told there was only one boat and it left at 1:30. This was supposedly a 2 and a half hour bus ride. I ran into a girl from the hostel who was also going to Ihla Grande in the terminal. We got seats next to each other but didn’t talk much as we were both asleep most of the time. What was supposed to be a 2 and a half hour bus ride turned out to be a 4 hour bus ride. I was worried but soon after getting off the bus I was greeted by a travel booker who said there would be another, slightly more expensive boat at 3:30. We walked to the boat terminal, where I was very thankful to see a concession stand. I quickly ordered a water then got on the boat. When the boat started puttering off, I opened my water and sipped the bitter nectar. Wait bitter nectar? I had accidentally ordered a beer. The saving grace that it was so cold that it tasted refreshing, even if I knew that it was doing nothing to relieve my dehydration. The boat ride was a pretty hour trip that went past several small islands with private homes on the way to the larger target. We pulled into dock around 4:45.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.031s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0155s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1017.7kb