Close encounter with a Coral Snake


Advertisement
Brazil's flag
South America » Brazil » Rio de Janeiro » Ilha Grande
November 24th 2008
Published: November 27th 2008
Edit Blog Post

My second hostelMy second hostelMy second hostel

What a change from the first in Rio. This place is heaven on earth. Falling asleep and waking up to the sounds of the waves lapping on the beach!
At the moment I am using internet daily but maybe later it might be much less than that.

Yesterday I got a new room mate. His name is Lasslo and he is a hungarian film maker. He has just been in the jungle shooting 50 days of live tv as they were making the Hungarian version of '' I'm a celebrity - get me out of here'' Kind of like survivor but with hungarian celebrities! He is here to chill before going home to Hungary. There are also 2 french / american guys staying here who are in town for a friends wedding in Rio and have also come to the island to chill out. We all hung out last night over a few beers (I had 2 !!).

Today (after my standard breakfast of a white bread roll, some processed cheese, mortadella (processed ham with white bits) a pieces of cake, fruit juice and coffee) I went for a hike with the Hungarian guy. He is a bit crazy and at the age of 22 had trekked on his own in Nepal and was so sick with altitude sickness he lost his map and did most of it on his own.

The island reminds me a little of Lord Howe but without the white haired tourists. We hiked through the hills (the vegetation really looks alot like NSW when you are bush walking) and over the beaches and reached our destination about 3 hours later. It was really steep but because this guy was used to Trekking and had just come back from the jungle it was easy for him, so I got a really really good work out!

We walked right past a snake. Lasslo saw it, but it was literally at our feet. It is called a coral snake as it is brightly coloured like Coral and luckily easy to spot but deadly posionous. We had to stand really still and let it start to move away and then run past quickly! I was a bit nervous after that but didnĀ“t see any more. By the time I got to the beach I actually only stayed for about 20 mins as it started raining (again) and caught the boat back to the main village (which was a hair raising experience!).

The scientists keep inviting me to go out with them. Tonight they are
Anyone fancy a bite to eat?Anyone fancy a bite to eat?Anyone fancy a bite to eat?

On my way out to the restaurant...I sat in a boat while a guy pulled my on a rope in this boat to the hut in the water. When I got there I realised I only had enough money on me to buy a plate of rice but it was still a great experience.
meeting some locals they met on a boat trip today but they are meeting at 10pm. Seriously I have been going to bed at about 9 or 10pm and waking up at about 6am. Not sure how long this will last but I am liking it a lot for now.

Instead a girl I met in Rio has just let me know she will be arriving on the island today so will meet her. She is a nice american and is doing her PHD in HIV immunisation. I keep meeting scientists!! At our hostel it is all you can eat home made burgers tonight for $10 with a free caprihina. Honestly, I have never eaten so much white bread and processed meat in my life. Again it really is amazing how quickly you adapt to life without the luxuries you are used to.

Already after being here for just a few days I am feeling totally recharged. I am not sure if I will stay here for 5 days or not as I am actually starting to get itchy feet already. That is the great thing about travelling. You can move on whenever you feel like it. I will se how I feel tomorrow.

Let me know if there is any news from home. Crazy to think that I was still in Australia this time last week!!




Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0622s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb