What Day is it?


Advertisement
Published: July 13th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I´m only doing that to fit in with my buddies! I know what day it is, honest!
It´s the day after I recorded the now 13 songs onto my camera, used up the entire memory card, and had to start transfering them to a flash drive I brought with me.
The weather has been more than dubious here for the last three days, so the fact that I´ve been sitting in George´s house, jamming these songs (the 13 songs collectively have now got a title coutesy of George - Anum Cara. It means ´´Soul mates´´) , watching BBC, eating a great British breakfast the other day, then chicken and chips, including chip butties (french fry sandwiches, for the unitiated) yesterday, is absolutely fine. Today so far has been the cloudiest and rainy of the three.
George owns a sailboat, and we were going to go sailing today, but I suspect the plan might have to wait. I haven´t been to the beach or snorkelled for two days so that´s hopefully going to change today.
The only time I left the house yesterday was to take Dani to the airport, with George´s little dog hanging over the side of the buggy in quite a charming way. I guess the fact its still rainy here on and off is very unusual - George has lived here for 20 years and tells me that the rains almost always end in June.
Two new guys are here - Miguel and Alvarro. They have checked the weather channel - supposedly it´s going to rain all week!
Good job I´m leaving in two days, if that´s true.
After two weeks here I feel so at home that it´s going to be like starting the whole trip over when I leave here.
The sky is getting a bit brighter as I write. I´ll have to go tto the beaches a couplre of more times before I leave, maybe do little video clips - Dani was doing that. Why didn´t I think of it? I should be able to upload them to the blog in theory.
We´ll see.
Anyway, enough of this blather. I just read Eric´s and Kristin´s blogs. It´s very exciting to me that we´re all three doing these blogs from all over the World. Of course, those buggers never write to me, but that´s ok, I´m going to write to them every time, anyway, even if I don´t have anything interesting or funny to say.
´´So what´s new?´´ I hear you ask, ´´isn´t that what you write everyday, anyway?´´
See you on the flypaper,
mike

Advertisement



13th July 2008

What Day Is it?
Hi, Well you've joined your buddies now. You gave me a chuckle with your title. I hope you g et some more snorkeling and beach time in before you leave the island. Great to follow along with all of you world travelers. I'm just going for my walk on my beach and for some relaxation today. Of course not as faboulous as your beach/island but its mine. Enjoy and thinking of you as you travel. Keep up the blog. Love the photos so far. Want more. Lucille
13th July 2008

Hey Mike! Good to hear things are brightening up for you. The music concept sounds very interesting and I can't wait to see what it transforms into once you've given it a medium back home. The pictures from underwater are really beautiful and some of the fish looked incredible in the pictures alone! Can't wait to hear more of your adventures!! love, Gia ^_^
13th July 2008

Hey Michael!! Well, it sure sounds like you are doing just about everything you love to do, which is great! Making music, hanging with good pals, watching BBC and eating familiar food....add to that all the fabulous outdoor activities - what an ideal trip it has been! I'll be looking forward to hearing the songs when you return....seems like this trip was the inspiration that got the creative juices flowing again - awesome :) Keep it coming - it's been fun to find new entries every day, each one is always a nice surprise to read! Stay safe and healthy and have fun!! xo, Suze
14th July 2008

Lucille 2
I don´t believe so much in better or worse, just different. I bet your beach is lovely. As for this one, it´s been chucking it down for three days, so not so lovely in the rain, just like anywhere else! mike
14th July 2008

Gia
Cheers, G. The Anam Cara story is rather odd, but underneath the oddity, it´s a sort of optimistic, if twisted, love song. It´s now gone up to 14 songs. I played them all together last night to see how they felt as a single piece. By the end, I was croaking like a bullfrog! mike
14th July 2008

Suze
Yeah. I´m feeling a bit guilty about just hanging around playing music for three days. Three days without the beach, without taking advantage of the island´s beauty at all. Thing is, I´ll be out of here in two days now: my Portuguese has gone backwards, I´m not even tanned, and I´ve not had anything to to do with Brazilian culture! To be honest, it´s not been an ideal trip! I´m trying to make the most of it, but my heart is not really 100% here. Plus, it´s costing an absolute fortune! Not complaining, you understand, just explaining! mike
14th July 2008

Hello
How in the world do you sit down and write so well being so busy? My eyelids are about to shut and the thought of getting my USB cable upstairs to get pictures on here is unthinkable. Off to Cambodia tomorrow... by bus (yikes).
14th July 2008

It's Monday!
Ha-Ha! I think it is very funny that all of you have "coordinated" your blog titles! I am having a great time reading about your adventures. As it happens, it is raining here on Martha's Vineyard as well. I am excited by the turn in weather though, I am beached out! Can't wait to hear more about your adventures!
14th July 2008

Y'know....I was just thinking, Michael. It's interesting how things work, in terms of fate and such. This summer trip is unusual compared to most all that you've done, in that there will be an earlier return - a short break of home and then a second trip revolving around your family. Given the loss of Boy, as well as your mixed feelings about being there - it seems that the structure of your summer ended up being that way for a reason. I think the reconnecting with your home base and with friends and family will be comforting and a positive turn. Just so interesting how life pans out, isn't it??
15th July 2008

We are reading
Mike, as you know this traveling business leaves you with so much to do each day that it is sometimes hard to find time to write. Can't wait to hear the new songs. You could probably upload those as videos too. We are now on Gili Air and hanging for a few days. I don't think Komodo is in the cards though. We have gone totally island. You know, lay around, snorkel, lay around, read, lay around, snorkel...it is so tough. BTW, at dinner last night, broke down and had pizza, we had the company of an orange cat. He kept jumping on people's chairs trying to get their food. I wonder if life number 2 has kicked in for the boy. I see orange cats everywhere. Maybe he's making the rounds. Very relaxing time we're having. Maybe too relaxing, gonna be hard to break the lazy habbit!
16th July 2008

Kristin
You´re loving it aren´t you? I can tell! mike
16th July 2008

Karen
Why don´t you do a Vineyard blog. I think the Vineyard is one of the greatest places on Earth. So tell us a few of your stories! mike
16th July 2008

Suze and Gia
Interesting indeed, and constantly changing and evolving. Here I am perched on the edge of the next chapter. Who knows what it will bring? Great to be alive, eh? mike
16th July 2008

Eric and Steph
I tried uploading the videos but it was next door to impossible so I gave up. Glad you´re having a great time on the Gilli´s - Almitra and I did too - the snorkelling was bloody excellent. AS for the orange cat - me too! Three of them starting hanging around Your Way, new visitors to the cat menagerie they have there. Finally, it´s not lazy to be having a good time with your girlfriend on beautiful beaches half a World away from home: it´s romantic! mike

Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 80; dbt: 0.0496s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb