Brazil!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


Advertisement
Brazil's flag
South America » Brazil » Paraná » Curitiba
January 20th 2007
Published: January 23rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Oi!

I´m beginning to think I´ve been cursed with plane journeys on this trip - after all the trauma of my departure from the UK, my arrival in Brazil was even more dramatic!

After numerous delays and a very turbulent flight, I arrived in Curitba to an electrical storm and flash floods - unbelievable!As i sat in the airport waiting for Debora to arrive (and hoping she would make it in one piece through the torrential rain!) we were suddenly plunged into darkness and everyone ran around screaming as water started pouring into the arrivals hall! Having donned my emergency poncho (thanks jen!) all i could do was sit with my mountain of luggage and wait for Debo to arrive...when she did I have never been so relieved to see anyone in my life!!!

It was so lovely to see Debo again (for those of you who dont know,I met Debo in Paris- she was my boss in the boutique where i worked and has just moved back to Brazil)!It has been so much fun spending the last few days living with a Brazilian family - so warm and welcoming and v passionate, fiery and mad, in the best possible way!Despite the communication difficulties, I have been welcomed as part of the family, and her mum and dad could not have done more to help me make the most of my stay in Brazil. Her dad is so cute- has bought me a guide book on Curitiba and has painstakingly organised the road trip that Debo and I are going to take along the coast of the south of Brazil, and her mum has looked after me so well, feeding me the most amazing local brazilian food-mamao, farofar, pork, rice and the most amazing gluten-free chocolate cake (i have the recipe for you mum!)

My stay in Curitiba has been lovely- i have visited the Jardim Botanico, Parc Tangua, Opera Wire, the historical centre, and the famous Oscar Niemyer museum.I have also been to 2 graduation balls (Debo´s sister has just graduated in law, and i went not only to her ball but to her friends grad ball also!) The balls here are totally diff from at home - a real family affair where its not just the students who get pissed and have fun, but their whole family too!Wonderful! After a few days of partying and chilling out with my new Brazilian family, Debo and I embarked on a hair-raising train ride from Curitiba to Morretes this morning. The Verde Express is one of Brazil´s only train lines, and takes in the most wonderful journey through the rainforests of Parana, descending from 900 metres above sea level right down to the town of Morretes on the coast. The 4-hour journey was pretty terrifying, inching along the side of mountains on the narrowest railway tracks i have ever seen, and across bridges with steep drops of hundreds of metres beneath them!The amazing views of the rainforest-covered mountains more than made up for it tho!After a huge lunch of baradeulla (meat stew with farofar), shrimp and various salads, we rolled back up the mountain to Curitiba to prepare for our road trip to Florianoplolis and the south tomorrow. Here´s hoping the weather holds out for us- have just bought 2 gorgeous bikinis from brazil´s top bikini boutique and cant wait to try them out-am so tired of being the pasty white scottish girl - i need to get a tan!!!

Beijosss de brazil!!!

Favourite moments of Curitiba

- Debo´s wonderful driving and navigational skills - I have been directing her round Curitiba!Every time we go out in the car we get lost and end up driving round in circles for hours,stopping at least 20 people for directions!la honte!

- Brazilian grad balls - fake boobs, inordinate amounts of glitter and glitz, cheesy tribute bands, feather boas and plastic hats, whisky...wonderful!

- my Brazilian family - Debo´s mum and dad, her sister Anna-Lucia, Raphaela and Flavia (cousins) and her cute nephew lindo Lucas!They are totally loco but wonderful!

- Verde Express - terrifying!




Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement



5th February 2007

vive le bresil !!!
Hey Gail honey!! How are you? Hope you're great !!! oh my goodness, you're tales from brazil are amazing!! (apart from scary arrival, memorable experiences Gail!) the verde express picture took my breath away (and made me feel dizzy!) and you look fab at the grad ball!!!! I'm off to NY tomorrow!! So hectic ! I now fully empathise with your packing problems - I'm only going for 11 days but have 5 pairs of shoes, suits, bikini, wooly hats....... I'll take take loads of pics and put them on my bebo for you to look at!!! (slowly getting with the times!) will get in touch properly when I'm back, until then you take care and carry on the adventure! just think tomorrow I'll be in the Americas too, so a wee bit closer to you! bisous nat
13th February 2007

Hello there,
Sorry i havent been in touch but my e-mail is still not working. I'm waiting to get a new password. Did you get anything from my e-mail? Your pics look great and your getting a bit wilder as the trip progresses. I'm glad that you having fun. I've printed a picture to have at home. I'm missing you loads. I was at Stuart's at the weekend with Ben. His house is lovely and we had a good time but the weather was awful. Ben enjoyed marking his new territory! We have decided that we are a couple!! I know that will make you laugh. i feel really comfortable with him and its very easy. He is taking me to Paris for three days the last week in March. It was a surprise but he had to tell me because of annual leave thing. Maybe I'll see your blue door again. maybe I should phone Mona and have a coffee with her. What do you think. Everyone else is well and is asking for you. Nicky was over with 5 of her friends last night and ate me out of house and home but they were nice and it was nice to see her happy. I have to go but I'll wirite more tomorrow. Love you lots, Mum XXXXXX
14th February 2007

Hi
Hi mum, been trying to send u mails but the address u gave me doesnt seem to be working!Am safe and well in Salvador - first few days were a bit dodgy but made some really nice friends now so all good. Will try call u tonight xxx

Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0426s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb