Waterfalls in Igazu and the Pantanal wetlands


Advertisement
Brazil's flag
South America » Brazil » Pantanal
April 11th 2006
Published: April 11th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Iguazu FallsIguazu FallsIguazu Falls

Wow, what a feeling standing close to this giant waterfall.....the best however was the sort of secret spot to swim on the argentinian side
Left the good live from Buenos Aires behind, and made my way to Puerto Igazu, The Waterfalls in Igazu, but on the Argentinian side. What a great day it was. Not only impressed by the thundering sound of the water plunging in to the depth, but Enjoying a nice swim in a place that comes close to paradise as well.
Ofcourse we were not supposed to walk further than the path led, but this was the only way to get to this 'secret' swimming spot....and this definitly was more rewarding than just standing on a platform with hundreds other tourists to watch the spectacle.
Visiting the Brazilian side aswell, which was less impressive, but worth doing since I had to wait for my bus to the Pantanal. In the Pantanal, which is an big wetland area, I did a 3 day trip to spot some wildlife. I was lucky I met a bunch of good people for this trip, becouse it was not the best arranged trip in the world. But everything stands or falls with the people you travel with, and we just made it a nice time.
The good thing about doing just something for a couple of hours
tourist picturetourist picturetourist picture

the proof that I did'nt copy someone elses photo
a day was that we had loads of time to play a bit of volley or loose some beers to the locals with a game of footbal. In between we did of course some wildlife viewing and the racoons, foxes, aligators and the birds made it an rewarding trip. but check out the pics, is my advice..more fun than reading some dull stories anyway


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Wildlife in the Pantanal, ToucanWildlife in the Pantanal, Toucan
Wildlife in the Pantanal, Toucan

Wet season in the pantanal, good for birds but too bad no anacondas or pumas
Piranha fishing.....got 4 of those bastards...Piranha fishing.....got 4 of those bastards...
Piranha fishing.....got 4 of those bastards...

One of our activities whas piranha fishing, not the best for me as a veggie, but it went so good that I realy start to like it....maybe I'll become a fisherman
Wildlife in the Pantanal, FoxWildlife in the Pantanal, Fox
Wildlife in the Pantanal, Fox

With the safari tour early in the morning we had the best chance to spot some wildlife
Riding horses.....I hope they can swimRiding horses.....I hope they can swim
Riding horses.....I hope they can swim

Riding the horses in the wetlands was a great experience but not that great for spotting animals...saw too much water!!
The Bunch of wildlife that I traveled withThe Bunch of wildlife that I traveled with
The Bunch of wildlife that I traveled with

It was because that we had a nice group that our trip with Ecological expeditions was a good time....not the wildlife, but the games of volleybal, footbal and some gitar jamming made it a great trip
No animals like this in HollandNo animals like this in Holland
No animals like this in Holland

So thats the reason for traveling, seeing animals that you'll can find in you back yard...but since I haven't got a yard....it was worth it


Tot: 0.195s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 65; dbt: 0.1067s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb