Floating with Fish in Bonito


Advertisement
Brazil's flag
South America » Brazil » Mato Grosso do Sul » Bonito
June 8th 2007
Published: June 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post


So after our trekking in the Pantanal I headed south 5 hours by minibus to Bonito with the Scandinavians and Spanish couple I'd been hanging out with. Bonito is a typical Brazilian village in the middle of nowhere. The roads for most of the journey were dust tracks and it made for a bumpy ride but I was getting used to this by now!

Bonito is most known for the several crystal clear rivers that run by it. You jump in at the top and float down the river admiring all the different fishes - pretty straight forward really! There are also several pretty cool caves there.

We checked into the Bonito Hostel International which was real nice compared to some of the other places I'd been staying at - and a pleasant change from the dusty campsite I'd spent the last three nights in at the Pantanal. I had hopped to make it a quick stay by but the bus time table wasn't working in my favour.

Whilst in Bonito I checked out the cave which was OK and also floated down Rio Sucuri. The river was indeed totally clear and there were lots of fish, but there was a lack of variety of fish. You can't have it all!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.267s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 13; qc: 60; dbt: 0.1018s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb