really behind on this


Advertisement
Brazil's flag
South America » Brazil » Bahia » Salvador
March 22nd 2006
Published: March 22nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Yeah I know I am very far behind on the blog sorry. I am actually in Buenos Aries now but there has been so much up til now that has not been typed.

After the river I spent the day in Belem with some friends from the last leg of the amazon. we wandered around to see what was there and caught the night bus to Soa Luis futher down the coast and spent a couple nights there. they had a great historic old town section which is a unesco site. very beautiful. it was agreat place to just chill out for a couple days. After that we all went our own ways. we all showed up at the buss terminal together and found busses to where we wanted to go. my bus left in 5 minutes and i really didn´t get a porper chance to say good byes. I was off to Salvador another very long overnight bus trip. I met a Belgin guy on the bus who had spent alot of time in Brazil, he gave me the low down on Salvador and where to stay. I found mt self a place to stay in the pelarhino the historic old section of town . not the safest area to be but definately the most popular. my driver from the bus station took me on the don´t go here street tour of the area before dropping me ff at the hostel. lot of crack heads in the area will jump you for your cash, kill you if you resist. stay in the well populated areasw ity is all good. I met a guy from Vancouver in the hostel who was into shooting grafitti so we spent a day with acab shooting up the town. The pelirhino is usalluy hopping with live music of some sort and many interesting characters. on two evenings we caught the live drum music performed in the streets. on the second occurance I was watching the band and a girl caught my eye so I smilled at her and she back as the band moved on this happend several times, after the last time she grabbed my hand and held on for dear life, I was not to escap. I was hanging ouit with a brazilianguy at the time who could speak english and he was my translator. I had him ask if she was working or not. She said she was not that kind of girl. Normally you ask a girl that question one of two things will happen she is or she will be affended and leave. she stuck around anyway so I thought what the heck and we all went for a beer. She kept getting closser all the time. You really have know idea who is up to what down here so it is best to ask. we went off on our own for awhile and she invited me to spend the night at her place. at first i was thinking wooohooo then It crosed my mind that I could wake up naked tied to a bed some where in the favela with no close or money and missing my bus to Rio. So I had too turn her down. She said she would meet me at the bus station in the morning and wanted to go to Rio. I did n´t see her in the morning , I thought it would be pretty weird if she showed.

Then it was off to Rio De Jenero. another very long bus ride. The bus brike down twice along the way and we had to chang buses again in the middle of the night. I got to Rio After the carnival had been over for awhile and it was still tough to find a place to sta. I ended up in an out of the way place with no signage that had some space. there I met a german travel aholic and a girl from Auz. after a walk on Ipanima beach we all headed out to a charasscaria, the other german guy I met on the amazon said you have to promise me you will try a charasscarria before you leave the country. so I had to keeep my word. it was the best food I have had in months. You all have to try this out when you are here. A charasscarria is a barbe quque restaurant. great salid bar, sushi bar and you get a green dot that is red on the other side. green for go red for no. the waiters walk around with all kinds of meet on bbq skewers and slice meat on to your plate as they walk by. the food was fanominal we ate there again the next night too. the next day we all went to the markets in the old town and had a great time goofing around. The next day will be an episode of its own. so enjoy this for now and don´t run with scissors.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0385s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb