Delayed reaction


Advertisement
Brazil's flag
South America » Brazil » Bahia » Salvador
September 17th 2005
Published: September 21st 2005
Edit Blog Post

The people you touch, the way you touch them, I hope they touch you too, cause in this life its hard to tell whats false and what is true... The things you see, the way you see them may never be seen again... The thing that's strange is you only live once and never look back again. Im dying to be alive, not trying to just survive, lets not go through our lives without just dying to be alive. - Hanson



The journey to Brazil was a long one. We were at sea for about a week and the last couple days we hit 'rough water'with waves about 7feet and our stomachs were all feeling it. Thank God for those little bands you wear to prevent motion sickness. When we arrived into Salvador, Brazil we were all so excited to be getting off the ship. What an experience the first day at port was. It wasn't bad, it was just different. Not American, not what I've spent the past 20 years of my life living with. The only thing that i could say at the end of the first day was I was ready to leave. It's just so hard not speaking the lanugage. So, the next day I did. I went on my 3 day hiking trip to Lencois, which was a 7hr drive from Salvador. It was Amazing. Words cant describe how much i loved Lencois. It was a beautiful, harmless town, with wonderful people. Plus, the hotel that we stayed in was one of the nicest hotels that I have ever been in in my life. It was amazing. (I totally recommend it for anyone, because it was spectacular and the rooms were cheap) My roommate for the trip, Leah, and I some how lucked out with the luxuary suite. Where we had a huge living room with 2 sofas and huge sliding glass windows. And a master bedroom with a king sized bed, another sofa, table and chairs. And off the bedroom was a patio with a hammock, all which over looked a little stream and the town. I lucked out because Leah wanted to sleep on the couch in front of the window. So i had the king sized bed to myself for 2 nights. That was sooooo nice, i could sprawl out and not be cramped at night like we are on the ship...anyway.. We were there for 3 days and went on a couple hikes. The hikes were not just hikes but it was like a combo of hiking, and rock climbing. When SAS told us that it was going to be strenious I kind of blew that off, but man they werent lying when they said it was strenious. It was intense. We were up and down, in and out, over and under, in forests on sand, on rocks, it was crazy. We stopped a couple times to swim in the natural water holes, under waterfalls and clif diving and at the end of the hike we got to go down a nautral water slide, which was basically a side of a mountain with water flowing down that we just slid down. ( I guess it would be their version of sledding) It was great. I had a great time in Lencois, oh man i want to go back. Well, except for the fact that the night before i left I got a sinus infection so my head, ears, and throat hurt and my nose was running constantly. I took some sudafed to calm it down, but it was still there. And the first hike that i went on the first day, just a 1 hour hike, i slid on a rock in the water and brused the bottom of my left heal so it was very hard to walk because it was all black and blue. So the second day, we hiked there from 8am - 5am, my foot was killing me, my nose wouldnt stop running, i only had one bottle of water and it was hotter than heck, my shirt was so wet that it was like i took a shower with my clothes on, but it was still great fun. We did over 10miles. Youre all thinking big deal 10 miles yes it sounds like not a lot, but it wasnt a 10mile hike on a flat surface we were doing it was a 10 mile HIKE. I got back to the hotel that night and i felt great. My knees hurt a little but nothing major. The next day when my alarm went off, i coudlnt move. Physically, my whole body ached, it literally took me 5minutes to get out of bed and walk over to get some motrin. When i was finally up and moving, I started to loosen up and felt better. Then all of a sudden i had this immense cramping in my stomach and i was buckled over in pain. It was awful. Come to find out i had travelers diareah, or a mild form of it. So i missed the hike on our last day because i was in the bathroom the whole morning. But Thank the Lord for Imodium, because that would have been the longest 7hr bus ride back to Salvador. Seriously, that would have been so bad. Right now, I am fine. I am still having a hard time moving around, but my foot is feeling better, my sinus infection is gone and I'm out of the bathroom. Im in Salvador right now and I'm having a better time than I did on the first day. (not getting ripped off as much) Tonight we leave for South Africa. That is going to be a long journey. I think we are at sea for over a week, which means tons of school work. But we will also have Desmond Tutu on the ship with us from Brazil to South Africa so I guess that is kind of exciting. Alright, I am off for now, until Cape Town. Peace.

Advertisement



21st September 2005

Hey Nicki: Wow! it sounds like your having a great time,I do miss you,but this is an expierence of a life time. can't wait to read your next blog. love Mr.B
21st September 2005

WOW
Wow Nicki, it sounds like you are having an awesome experience!! I'm glad to hear that you are doing better from being sick! Have fun!!!
21st September 2005

Dear Nicole, Thank you so much for sharing your adventure with me. I look forward to seeing a travelblog in my email and got a little concerned when I hadn't gotten on in a few days. It sounds like you are having the experience of a lifetime and I am so happy for you. I am also getting to know you more intimately thru your email and I must say that I am very impressed with the woman you have become. Your level of maturity far surpasses girls of your age. I am not sure My daughter Robin could express or carry herself as well as you do. Good job Nicole!! Continue to have fun and know you are in our thoughts every day. Love Denise
22nd September 2005

Brazil
Nicki, I is so much fun receiving your travelblog. I look forward to seeing it every time I go on the computer. Your are a great story teller. I am so thrilled for you and I hope this journey continues to be a blessing to you. God's Speed Sandi
22nd September 2005

Go Girl!
After all those hikes, sounds like a good time to hit the spa on the ship! It will loosen all those muscles. Continue, living, learning and loving!Enjoy the wisdom of Desmond Tutu. Not everyone has the opportunity to meet a The Nobel Peace Prize Winner upclose and personal! Then vist the country he is serving. When your kids are studing about him in school, You will be able to tell your kids you cruised with him. I love you and love living this journey with you! Prayers to you, MOM
22nd September 2005

Hike
10 mile hike...ha remember the hike you, Laura and I took at Letchworth? Ha okay, so our hike was nothing compared to yours, but I thought I'd mention it. It's so interesting to hear all that because we have no idea what you're doing day to day. It makes me so excited to see the video footage too! Miss you! I'm writing an email to you tonight by the way. Peace out.

Tot: 0.162s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 47; dbt: 0.052s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb