Salvador - day 3 - the beach day


Advertisement
Brazil's flag
South America » Brazil » Bahia » Salvador
February 7th 2007
Published: February 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post

So, since the previous day Vic and I didn't make it to the beach and Vic seemed in a much better shape, I felt I could leave her alone in the hostel to read her book. I went out with Leila. As we were walking out of the hostel, Tana, a roommate of mine joined us and we went for a coffee just of the main square. She had Acasi (or something rather) a very thick purply drink. Yammy! She asked for bananas as a topping. Leila ordered a banana drink. I asked for a frozen capucchino. My drink came.. it was far from "frozen" it was bearly chilled... and there was I hoping for something like the frescatos in London during the summer. We waited and waited but the other two items from our order did not arrive. One of the girls came had a look at the order and walked away. We started wondering why it's taking them such a long time to bring the remainder of the order. I jokingly said "May be they've gone to pick the bananas". And have a guess what... indeed.. when at last they brought the drinks, they said that they had ran out of bananas and had to go out and get them!!!

Tana went her own way afterwards. Leila and I wondered to the port. Got a bus to Barra. Went to the beach. We were not overly impressed. There were rocks quite close to the beach. We also had to take it in turns to have a dip in the ocean as one of us had to guard our bags. I didn't take my camera as I didn't want to risk losing it. We sunbathed for quite a bit, had a couple dips in the water. Went for a wander along the beach and it was time to have some lunch. We went to a restaurant. Leila had some Brazilian Gnocchi. I didn't think it was a great idea. But they were gorgeous! There was some dried meet and a carroty and something else, may be a sweetpotato mash. My dish on the other hand, was not the fillet of fish I was expecting. The fish was cut into small pieces and fried in batter. Ok, but not quite what I was hoping for.

I went to the ladies only to scream out of horror when I noticed that my arm was half white and half pink!... Later, I discovered that my tummy had a line... and the pink bikini line.. Not all of you will want to know..but one of my butt cheaks was pink whist the other wasn't... Hmmm clearly I was way too much in a hurry when applying that SPF50+ sunblock earlier this morning!!! And it's itchy... Not surprising... Hopefully, I can get some sleep. tonight.

Once back at the hostel, Vic seemed back to normal, which was a great relief. It seems like she was suffering from a 24hour bug or something of the kind. She had 2 pieces of toast for dinner! What a grand achievement!

I had a shower and was ready to go out. Leila, Craig, an American guy, from our hostel (the one I mentioned that has been travelling since 2005!) and I went to get some skewers from a street stoll. And was it yammy! They do love their meet here! It wasn't even served with bread! Just a slice of cucumber and tomato. The streets this evening were much emptier and quieter. The difference between payday and any other day of the week was massive. We went to a pankcake place. Had some pancakes with chocolate and ice cream. Do I need to say what we had to drink. Man, this must be the best mango carpirinha ever! It had real fruit in it! Simply delicious! So the R$6 vs the more usual price of R$4 was definitely worth it (size of the glass as well as the fruit). Craig was telling us some pretty amazing and scary moments about his travels. We got back to the hostel and hang out for a bit on the balcony... but then it was time for me to come and write up my update.




Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement



Tot: 0.143s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 80; dbt: 0.0969s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb