Lencois- Chapada Diamantina


Advertisement
Brazil's flag
South America » Brazil » Bahia » Lençóis
August 8th 2008
Published: August 8th 2008
Edit Blog Post

After travelling back down the coast to Salvador I went inland to a small village called Lencois (not the same one as before- about 600km west of Salvador) which is on the edge of Parque National Chapada Diamantina which is national park in the mountainous region which an area larger than the Netherlands- it has mountains, swaps, valleys, gorges, waterfalls, jungles, caves, natural swimming pools and water slides. I went with the intention of doing a two day trek into the park but I ended up hiring a guide and doing 6.5 days with three lovely Isreali girls that I met on the bus. And although I have neve been so tired/filthy/achey/blistered/bruised/cut/grazed and generally exhausted I definitly think that it is the bvest place/experience that I have had since arriving in Brazil- I absolutly loved it! The trekking was certaintly hard work- we averaged about 28km a day with the majority of it being either very steep uphill or very steep downhill. It also included climbing several mountians, fording rivers, bathing in waterfalls, scrambling through pitch black caves etc etc. And as you can imagine with my infamous ability to injure myself at all occassions and in a country where I dont think that they have ever heard of health and saftey and their idea of protective safty equipment is carrying a packet of plasters there were certaintly some hairy moments, my favorate being when we were traversing the face of a mountain at about 300m and I lost my footing and ended up dangling just by one hand to a tree root!! I wont say anymore now as I dont think my mums blood pressure will appreciate it I did chuckle to myself thinking about what Carol would have made of the risk asssesement for the trek!

But as I said dispite the brushes with death and the absolute exhaustion it was definity the best thing I have done. As I am quickly running out of time now I have travelled back past Rio to a little colonial village called Parati where I plan to rest for a few days before heading to Sao Paulo on Sun ready to fly to Peru on Mon. As before will upload photos as soon as I find somewhere that alows me to do it


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



8th August 2008

Wow...
Hi Hun, All looks amazing. I don't think I could ever experience what you are....I like my home comforts too much! Our biggest adventure this summer was an overnight ferry trip from Portsmouth to Le Havre which, as expected was a complete nightmare! Bloomin kids! I intend to holiday alone from now on so I may join you! Missing you loads. Can you send some chicken lasagne to me please? Deb XXXXX
11th August 2008

Wow!
Gem you sound to be having a wild time! You certainly know how to take those risks Gem! Good job there are no knitting needles where you are - no time for those! It's fab to be able to follow you - off to Cornwall next week will think of you across the oceans! x

Tot: 0.123s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 60; dbt: 0.0651s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb