Farewell Amazon!


Advertisement
Brazil's flag
South America » Brazil » Amazonas
April 2nd 2007
Published: April 2nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Today, I woke up still with my fever and feeling much worse. I am still ignoring this though. Today I am going back hiking in the jungle to visit a native tribe! (please don’t let me see spiders today….) I didn’t take too many pix today because I was just still in amazement of being in the jungle. Today though, I was trying to remember to breathe. This cold has got me all sorts of messed up and congested. After Breakfast my guide, Andrei, takes me on another canoe to visit the tribe. We have a short hike, come to the tree we have to hit and he hits it 4 times: we’re visitors and soon a tribe person will come greet us and take us to the tribe. (and apparently this particular tribesman loves cigarettes). Getting to the tribe we are greeted by a young girl who can’t even be my age (later I learn she is 24). She sits me in the medicine hut and shows me all the types of medicines the tribe uses. Right now I wish I could use them too…It’s fascinating though. They have oils to bathe in if you are not having a good year with money, love, etc. They have meds for asthma…it’s incredible. In school we would always go to Indian huts and the actors would teach us about the place. But this---these people are living it, now. The school has the children learning their native language as well as Portugese. The woman who was showing me the meds is apparently the teacher. There are about 7 kids ranging from 4 to 13. they sang a couple songs, welcoming me to their home. Very sweet little kids! Then we went to a music hut where the same kids showed me some traditional tribal dances. Very cool! I got to talk to them for a few minutes with the help of my guide. They also make and sell jewelry so I had to buy some.  The visit to the tribe was short because I had to get back and get my stuff ready to leave. Today I leave back to Manaus where I’ll rest the rest of the day. The hike back and canoe ride I got to talk to Andrei more and he’s pretty cool. I guess he’s working on getting a student visa to come to America to study medicine. Anyway, back to the hotel to rest and get ready for my 2.5 hour boat ride to my hotel.


Once I get to Manaus, I get in my hotel, which is beautiful! It’s a 5star, so that’s kinda cool. There’s a nice coffee shop that I sat in and surfed the web for awhile. My fever still holding strong. I vow to kill it. So, I put on my bikini and as the sun sets, I get in the pool, which was freezing to my burning skin…and just floated for about an hour. After that I went to my room, took a cold shower, then went to find dinner and a drink or 2. I had to get to bed kind of early, I have a long day tomorrow. I meet my guide who shows me around historical Manaus, then transports me to the airport where I spend the rest of the day traveling to Salvador.

Here's a pic of my hotel tower...my door anyway. isn't it cool!?






Advertisement



Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0455s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb