Feliz Natal: Merry Christmas!!!


Advertisement
Brazil's flag
South America » Brazil » Amazonas » Manaus
December 20th 2006
Published: December 19th 2006
Edit Blog Post

kiddies from ADCAMkiddies from ADCAMkiddies from ADCAM

english students
It’s another day of teaching English at ADCAM. The children look at me with curiousity and unsureness. I can see they don’t know what to think of this whole English thing. Many of them have never spoken a word of English in their lives. I am a foreigner in this tropical world and in their eyes it is strange but hilarious. They smile and laugh hysterically when I say “purple” or the letter “w.” They especially love when I say “you are a boy,” as boy (boi) is “cow” in Portuguese. Today my cheeks hurt from smiling so much. I think that’s a good sign. As they write in their notebooks the room is quiet. They concentrate on each letter and check the board for mistakes. A small beige and white dog lies under a desk as I teach. He followed Raphael to class this morning. The room is hot and humid. A large overhead fan squeaks in the silent space. Birds whistle in the bread fruit trees outside the door. I ask if they are ready, and they are. “Hello, my name is Lillian,” I say. They repeat after me. “Voce é Lillian?” I ask. This makes them giggle and
views at workviews at workviews at work

views at ADCAM
they understand now. They are not Lillian. “My name is Danielson,” “My name is Jessica,” “My name is Edinelson,” are phrases like sweet music to my ears.
After class I sit on the stairs and watch the children kick a soccer ball around the grassy field. Some students play on the makeshift teeter totter in the field. A group of students sit in the shade slurping on mangos from the surrounding trees. A flock of children surround me, petting my hair, playing with my earrings and asking me all sorts of questions in Portuguese. Their eyes are big, brown and intense, staring into mine. Do you wear contacts? Are your eyes really blue? Is California beautiful? Does it snow there? Does your mom live there? Some say nothing at all and simply hug me quietly. Some holler random new English words while playing. Throughout a soccer game, I hear the boys shout "Good Morning!," "I am from Brazil!." Some sing the ABC song as they walk to have their morning snack. These children are the highlight of my day and are a joy to work with. At the end of the day I feel satisfied and look forward to
schoolschoolschool

at ADCAM
teaching the next day. Teaching is allowing me to learn in return and I think I will continue teaching English for years to come.

Last weekend was the end of the year Christmas party for ADCAM. It was so fun! All the students, their parents and staff were there. Many of my students performed on stage. A group of girls in pink tutus and tights did a ballerina show that was so sweet. The choir sang and the little kids danced. One of the male teachers sang a funky song while the audience sang along. After the show, the other teachers and I handed out sweets to all the kiddies. It was fun meeting my students parents and seeing their faces in their moms and dads. One mama introduced me to her little toddler who knew how to sing BON JOVI's "It's my Life," in English! Funny.....

Recently I have been considering importing Amazon jewlrey to the states. There are beautiful necklaces and bracelets here made from all natural Amazonian materials such as açai, murumuru, jarina and tucumã. I am thinking to start with consignment and eventually have an Amazon shop in California with a percentage of proceeds
playgroundplaygroundplayground

at ADCAM
going to ADCAM and other great non-profit programs here. Hmmm, many ideas. I am making contacts with the jewlrey sellers downtown and trying to figure it all out. I met a man on Sunday who wants to give me necklaces in exchange for English classes. Way cool! Next week Fernando and I are going to check out his studio where the jewlrey-making magic happens. I'm excited!

I hope you all are having a great December. Have a wonderful Christmas and Happy New Year!

Much love,

Lil

“Only as high as I reach can I grow, only as far as I seek can I go,
only as deep as I look can I see, only as much as I dream can I be.” ~ Karen Ravn



Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement

path at ADCAMpath at ADCAM
path at ADCAM

meandering path between mango and lemon trees
Downtown ManausDowntown Manaus
Downtown Manaus

View from Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Mahal HotelTaj Mahal Hotel
Taj Mahal Hotel

360 degree rotating restaurant with 360 degree windows. Awesome.
Teatro AmazonasTeatro Amazonas
Teatro Amazonas

Downtown Manaus on the banks of the Rio Negro.
rooftop poolrooftop pool
rooftop pool

downtown Manaus
stained glassstained glass
stained glass

beautiful church
saintsaint
saint

church
docked boatsdocked boats
docked boats

man washing out net
statuestatue
statue

plaza
bedroombedroom
bedroom

In our apartment
living roomliving room
living room

In our apartment
necklacenecklace
necklace

Amazon jewlrey
necklacenecklace
necklace

Amazon jewlrey
necklacenecklace
necklace

Amazon jewlrey
necklacenecklace
necklace

Amazon jewlrey


20th December 2006

sounds beautiful. . .
Lillan, I love reading your blogs. They are beautiful and I can tell you are surrounded by moments of pure happiness. Miss You Anna
21st December 2006

Oh Wow!
That's amazing Lillian! The pictures are beautiful and the children seem very happy! I'm glad you are having a great time teaching english to the children. Your place is well decorated. The Amazon Jewelery business sounds like a good idea and yes the necklaces are very pretty. A friend of mine gave me a necklace not from Brazil but from Costa Rica and it reminds me of the amazon jewelry. Anyway, wish you well, all your friends miss you in California, hope to see you someday :)
4th January 2007

miss you!
that rooftop pool is cool

Tot: 0.125s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0961s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb