Maceio, Brazil


Advertisement
Brazil's flag
South America » Brazil » Alagoas » Maceió
December 17th 2004
Published: December 17th 2004
Edit Blog Post

Welcome to my travel blog. I would like to thank everyone that has agreed to participate in this blog. My trip, as it stands now, will be from the 21st of January until the 14th of May. The first month will be spent at surf school, Carnival, and my family’s beach house. The last three months will be spent in Maceio, which is the capital of the state of Alagoas. Maceio is located on the northeast coast of Brazil (about two hours flying time from Rio), on a narrow strip of land between a lagoon and the Atlantic Ocean. (Just in case you wanted to stop by for a weekend visit)
The city grew around a sugar mill following the Dutch occupation during the early 17th century. The Portuguese gained control of Maceió in 1654 and by the early 19th century it had developed into an important sugar export center, in 1839 it became the provincial capital. Maceió is an important cultural center, with a university and historical institute. Think about that, sugar exporting. There is nothing more exciting than sugar exporting.
I will try to post every couple of days and include pictures to follow along with my stories. I will try to keep my postings brief. Thanks for joining me on my journey to Brazil.

Benjamin Price


Advertisement



1st January 2005

PRAYING FOR YOU!
Benjamin, Have a wonderful time! I will be praying for a safe journey and that you make lasting friendships. We will miss you, but hopefully, this travelblog will let us keep in touch. It's quite an awesome world we now live in! Say your prayers every night! LOVE, MOM - MOM

Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0268s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb