Maceio


Advertisement
Brazil's flag
South America » Brazil » Alagoas » Maceió
February 15th 2007
Published: February 15th 2007
Edit Blog Post

This is going to be a quick entry, as I'm writing it while I wait for the bus down to Salvador. I really haven't done much, as I wanted a quiet few days before the madness of Carnival.

Maceio seems to be mainly orientated around the beaches, where there is a substantial promenade, with lots of high rise luxury hotels. I was staying in a little hotel off the beach, so no super luxury for me. I did wander into the Ritz Plazamar hotel, wondering how expensive it could be and then walked straight out again. My budget could not stretch to the equivalent of a hundred pounds a night.

It seems pretty safe here, I've been walking around with no hassle. The city centre seems quite run down in comparision to the beaches, there is a large pedestrian shopping centre, which could almost be in the UK, except the shops are quiet different. When I was in the centre I managed to get an "all you can eat" style lunch for an equivalent of a pound. There are a few old buildings left, which are shown in some of my photos.

On Tuesday I got the bus to a little town called Marechal Deodoro, its a very pretty and looks like it hasn't really changed since colonial times. Its set against the local lagoon, which makes a great setting.








Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Igreja Bom Jesus dos MatiriosIgreja Bom Jesus dos Matirios
Igreja Bom Jesus dos Matirios

This is on one of the two main squares in Maceio. What is not shown is that there was a lot of people camping on this square. It looked like a protest, but I wasn't sure what it is was about.
Golden ArchesGolden Arches
Golden Arches

Yes they even have McDonalds here. The strange thing was that this photo was taken at 11 am and it wasn't open yet.


Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0389s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb