South West Circuit - Day 4


Advertisement
Published: October 29th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Although I´d seen photos and knew what to expect, I still didn´t really expect what I found. The Salar de Uyuni is one of the weirdest, most beautiful, mind-boggling things I have ever seen...and I saw a lake of bright red water just 2 days ago.

My head can´t really get around it...the vast expanses of pure white salt crystals is blinding but I take off my shades anyway...I want to be dazzled. It´s fantastic...just bright blue sky and even brighter white...your sense of perspective is totally shot. It´s like the artic, but not cold. I have to touch the ground anyway, just to convince my doubting brain that it isn´t snow.

In some places across the 12,000 sq km white desert the salt is formed into hexagonal tiles, formed on the surface during rainy season. At it´s thickest points the pure salt is 7mtrs deep, and in other areas you can poke little holes and see water just a few inches below the surface.

We stop at the Isla de Pescado in the centre of the Salar. It´s a great big rock covered in cactus which at closer inspection reveals itself to be dead coral, a reminder that over 25,000 years ago this was a great sea.

This tour has been the most exciting geography lesson I´ve ever had. It´s been the most visual reminder of what an amazing planet we live on. For the past two months I have felt lucky everyday, but none moreso than today...it really is a privilage to be here.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0501s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb