The Mines of Potosi


Advertisement
Bolivia's flag
South America » Bolivia » Potosí Department » Potosi
December 29th 2007
Published: December 29th 2007
Edit Blog Post

YumYumYum

All over La Paz there are these little ladies with These great snacks
I have a fast computer so I am going to put up as many Pics I can. I left my camera and other memory card at the hostel but i do have a CD from someone else..

The mines of Potosi have been around for the last 500 years since the spanish came..Well longer.. There is little differance from then and now. It was only 4 years ago that they installed electric wenches. till then they would carry most of the rocks out on their backs. The mine produces several minerals in high demand in China and India one of which is silver, which has made life easier for the miners in the last couple of years with the rise in prices.

This was an experience I am glad I did but would never do it again...... It was too real.. You would ask the guide what the white stuff growing from the walls and her would say "oh thats Arsenic and Aspestos" and all we had was a bandana on!!!! plus you had to hike up and down the tunnels and the elevation was 4600m or so you there was no O2 so you had to take big
PotosiPotosiPotosi

This is where it all happens..
breaths..

The miners would not eat all day in the mine not too sure why.. they would chew Coca leaves and by doing this it will take away their hunger and give them extra energy..

There is also a pic of Caz and I on the street of La Paz eating Cow heart... So good..


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

All ready to go.All ready to go.
All ready to go.

Caz, Thomas, and I ready to go into the mine..
WorkersWorkers
Workers

going into the mine
A MinerA Miner
A Miner

This guy would pound holes in the rock wall all day and at 5pm they would put TNT in the holes..
Thats me..Thats me..
Thats me..

Trying to crawl through the mine.. Some of the tunnels are only a few feet wide.. the miners stay down there all day so they only use the tunnels twice a day to get in and out..


31st December 2007

its not Jims fault that he is really really really good looking
Hey these photos remind me of a couple scenes from zoolander!!

Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0544s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb