La Paz, Bolivia


Advertisement
Published: June 8th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


iGUAZU FALLSiGUAZU FALLSiGUAZU FALLS

THE CREW AT IGUAZU FALLS IN NORTHERN ARGENTINA
hey!!!!
pues, soy una idiota con este ¨blog thing¨ and i´m trying to keep limited time at the locutorio. here´s my summary on la paz- can you help me post it por fa?


Hola a todos!
Our excursion to La Paz was fairly short-lived, it kinda seemed like a plausible halfway point to reach the jungle and Copacobana, but the small segment we saw of the city was captivating.
We stayed like kings in a lavish hotel, ---seemingly lavish to both Bolivian and U.S. standards, and our little Sonya ´Patita´ gave us a small tour of her home city.
The things I´ll remember the most from those two days-
1. Sonya´s heartbreak when talking about the discrimination and hardships the indigenous people face, and the depletion of plants and animals around Bolivia. I couldn´t follow a lot of what she said, but I felt her sadness.
2. and the many stands of indigenous people in traditional wear selling everything from alpaca mittens to fruit smoothies to I-pods. It´s a strange sight---how the old times mesh with the modern age.

if we had more time in La Paz, I´d accept it with open arms, because there is sooo much we didn´t even get a taste of, but I happily depart from the captial city for a breath of less inhaled air.
==============


Advertisement



Tot: 0.135s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 14; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0507s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb