Las Paz


Advertisement
Bolivia's flag
South America » Bolivia » La Paz Department » La Paz
November 29th 2016
Published: November 29th 2016
Edit Blog Post

Today was a free day and I spent my time wandering about the city . Nice city with a lot to see. I did a hop on hop off bus tour of the larger newer city this morning and was happy to do that . There are so many areas to this place ...but then there are @1.5 million people who live here . There is also the Alto Plano that stretches fo more than an hour driving above the city . We passed through that yesterday and I am amazed at the building going on . Thomas our local guide says there is nearly another million who live there . Many of the buildings are incomplete .Main plus 1 floor done 2 in process ( no windows yet )and another roughed in. TERRIBLE roads up there right now but I am sure they will get better.

Anyway back to the city . On the southern edge there is an area called the Moon Valley and it is quite spectacular. It is a claylike rock that has been eroding for centuries and there have the most amazing shapes due to the rainy seasons .It reminded me of Capadocia.

When the tour finished I returned to our hotel which is in the center´...the colonial area and had lunch before starting to walk about . I really have enjoyed the market areas , the churches , the colonial buildings ,both refurbished and not , and watching the people . The women over 30-40 all seem to wear traditional dress . Many skirts , shawls across their backs to carry children , product of some kind or who knows what . It is not visible. The children are dressed warmly and those on mom´s back are protected from the rain by a plastic that mom arranges.

That´s all for today .

Thank you all for the birthday wishes . I had fun last night .

Tomorrow we fly to Sucre the real capital of Bolivia and another UNESCO site . I am looking forward to it . It is not quite as high although I have learned to chew coco leaves and manage quite well now.

Hope all is well . I lok forward to your comments.

Advertisement



29th November 2016

Hello from Regina
Hi Pam, a belated Happy Birthday! I sent you an email but you may not have had a chance to read it. It is winter here but not cold. Las Paz sound like an interesting city. Looking forward to the next post. Marilyn.
30th November 2016

BUSY GIRL
SO MANY MORE GOOD MEMORIES FOR YOUR TRAVEL LIBRARY. BE SAFE ENJOY, LOVE , ROGER

Tot: 0.383s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 9; qc: 40; dbt: 0.1099s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb