A Much Needed Talking To


Advertisement
Bolivia's flag
South America » Bolivia » La Paz Department » La Paz
June 18th 2015
Published: June 30th 2015
Edit Blog Post

My current stumblings around La Paz seem to mirror my stumblings in life. It is true what they say that the one person you can never get away from is yourself. I feel somewhat better today, more breath, but also more aware of a slight headache. I took a much needed walk today up Avenida Arce to the Plaza del Estudiante. It was nice to blow some of the early trip trepidation away.

Despite all the warnings I have been to South America before, five times actually. I have hopped on the back of motorbike taxis in Cartagena. I have wandered through dimly lit streets in Lapa at night looking for the dodgy bits. I have walked drunk blithely through a late Cali night. I have been stranded unconcerned after a futbol match in the menacing streets of Boca.

What I need to do is to get back to who I was. The fearless, open, and adventurous lad who existed just a few years ago before trying to make a go at a normal American life. Starting tomorrow at my hostel it will be time to get back to that old self. I wish my Spanish was back to the level it was in Colombia. Is it the Japanese or an old brain that is hindering its return. I am looking forward to a rebirth. Remember tearing my way through Brazil in 2011? Was that peak powers? Is there any reason a 37 year old can't do what a 33 year old did? Tomorrow everything will be different. I feel power and possibility growing.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0566s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb