The highest "capital" in the world, and two birthdays.


Advertisement
Bolivia's flag
South America » Bolivia » La Paz Department » La Paz
November 6th 2011
Published: November 22nd 2011
Edit Blog Post

Lake TiticacaLake TiticacaLake Titicaca

The exact same feeling as being on a beach somewhere on the ocean on a quiet day - the same waves, the same horizon, the same smell and sound. Incredible!
Good morning,

Finally a Bolivia update, I apologize for the delay.
I went to Bolivia at the end of October, for about two weeks, to visit B. and to see the Salt Flats at Uyuni.
Because it has been a while, and my memories are not as fresh anymore (and because it is late, and I'm tired), the update will be short.


Arriving in La Paz was amazing- like in Peru I had the feeling to finally be arriving in South America. Filled with colors and dirt, honking cars everywhere, I got very excited to see more of this country.
Seing B. again was great! I got to go to his work and meet all of his little friends, and later I got to meet his host family.
I spent a few days exploring La Paz, before we were to head off to Lake Titicaca. However, first we had to celebrate my birthday, and we went to a small Jazz bar in La Paz, called Thelonious. Great night (not so great coffee, though), fun people, and very good music - a beautiful and talented singer gave her best at interpreting some Bossa Nova.

That weekend, we went to Copacabana, Lake Titicaca, and from there we took a ferry to la Isla del Sol. Beautiful little place, we stayed in a home right on the beach. For B.'s birthday, we went up on a mountain to watch the sunrise, and had some picknick-breakfast up there.
We mainly spent our time walking or climbing around the island, and it was absolutely beautiful.
For me this was the favorite part of Bolivia, an amazing weekend, great company, many laughs (and the lake is beautiful, of course!).

One of the amazing things about Bolivia: it is incredibly cheap. For the entire weekend (including two 3-hour bus rides, two 2-hour ferry rides, hostel room -single bed, even-, food, restaurants, and wine), we each spent about 18 euros. Just to make it clear: we spent 1,50 euros per night for a single room! Whaaat? (It's true!)



After an amazing weekend, I took off to go to Uyuni for a three-day tour of the Salt Flats. Great, but overall the pictures of the trip ended up being better than the actual trip. Beautiful landscape, but way too much driving and too little walking, and an incredibly rude tour guide.
I have to admit that I may have had too high expectations, because in the end I was a bit disappointed. I also have to admit, that I liked the Chilean part of the Flats (in the Atacama) a lot better.

The last few days I spent again in La Paz, going souvenir-shopping (cheap!), and finally meeting B.'s b-boy crew. General lazyness and all that, but eventually I had to make my way back to Santiago!
All in all an amazing trip, totally worth it!



Right now I am getting ready to go to Argentina, and then to Brazil for my last six weeks in South America.
Uni's over, I've finally moved out of the crack house (and am very excited about it), and now it is just going to be about traveling, relaxing, and visiting Leoa in Salvador!

I'll keep you all posted!
Take care,
L.


Additional photos below
Photos: 29, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

Isla del SolIsla del Sol
Isla del Sol

The view from our hostal window.
Isla del SolIsla del Sol
Isla del Sol

Watching B.'s birthday sunrise.
Isla del SolIsla del Sol
Isla del Sol

Our friend, the llama.
Salt FlatsSalt Flats
Salt Flats

Driving across the huge salt lake at Uyuni.
Salt FlatsSalt Flats
Salt Flats

In the middle of nowhere...


Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0218s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1mb