La Paz


Advertisement
Bolivia's flag
South America » Bolivia » La Paz Department » La Paz
March 23rd 2010
Published: March 29th 2010
Edit Blog Post

So far, I´m loving Bolivia. It´s completely different to Peru, very cheap and has a whole lot of character.

Today, I visited the witches market which was cool but weird. It sells pretty much anything you can think of including potions. lotions, jewellery, clothes, rugs, and of course... shrunken, dried, dead llamas. Shame it didn´t fit in my rucksack otherwise, I definitely would have bought one of those back to hang in the living room(!)

In the afternoon, a few of us went to the Bolivian Valley of the Moon which is basically a place full of craters that look like the moon. As you can probably imagain, I had a lot of fun pretending to be on the moon for an afternoon. I will however, have to visit the one in Chile for a comparison (and of course, another afternoon of pretending to be an astronaut.)

In the evening, we met our new tour leader, Pablo the Argentinian and went to dinner in an amazing restaurant in the Witches March (I think the food was potion free, or I least I hope it was...) He left it about 20 minutes before talking about the Falklands and asked me what I thought. So I told him they were British. I don´t think it went down too well. He said that in school, they´re taught that because of their geographical location, they rightfully belong to Argentina and they´re not allowed to call them Falklands, only Islas Malvinas. Hmmm. I was pretty happy when the conversation topic changed.

Came back to the hotel, lost a card game and went to bed to rest us for the big day tomorrow...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.132s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 21; qc: 99; dbt: 0.0907s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb