Marathon training slacking in Bolivia


Advertisement
Bolivia's flag
South America » Bolivia » La Paz Department » La Paz
August 16th 2008
Published: September 2nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

By the time I arrived in Bolivia´s capital, La Paz, I was feeling quite sick. I had a bit of a cough before heading into the mines which not surprisingly worsened afterwards. I had ran in Potosi at 13,500ft which was a struggle and now being sick I just did not have the energy to run in La Paz´s high altitude. I had been running all throughout my time in Argentina and just had done 13 miles at the start of August. With training on my mind I picked up the pace of my traveling to get into a more runner friendly area.

La Paz is basically in a bowl with its sides made of mountains. The city is filled with markets including a witches market and many shops selling alpaca hats, gloves and socks. After two days in La Paz feeling not so great I took a bus ride to Copacabana which is on Lake Titicaca. It was a beautiful spot to relax for a couple days and watch some great sunsets over the lake. I tried to run a few miles but still couldn't do much. Lake Titicaca is one of the highest lakes in the world at 3800m. After Copacabana it was off to Peru for my final country of the journey.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Showers in BoliviaShowers in Bolivia
Showers in Bolivia

Where I come from electricity and water dont mix too well


Tot: 0.28s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.201s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb