sick and scared


Advertisement
Bolivia's flag
South America » Bolivia » La Paz Department » La Paz
November 26th 2007
Published: November 28th 2007
Edit Blog Post

RiotsRiotsRiots

This is one of the political buildings that was burned. I walk by this every day.
I woke up at 3AM puking my brains out. altitude sickness was catching up to me real bad. i also spent my night on the computer researching sucre. my flight to sucre was cancelled because protesters took over the airport. sucre was worse than i expected. 4 people were killed. a student got shot in the head, a police officer was lynched, and a lawyer was killed by spraygas. however, i arrived to sucre today even though my intution told me not to. i figured if flights to sucre were working then it should be ok. the 16'year old and some guy picked me up at the airport. i realized that sucre was in turmoil! there is NO police in sucre! they left! can you imagine what could happen if noone is their to enforce anything__ on top of that.. 160 inmates from sucres prison escaped. to make my situation worse, all the atms are closed and practically nobody accepts credit cards. i have no money. i have 210 bucks in US bills but that cant do me any good here. i feel so screwed. if sucre doesnt improev within a week, im leaving. im going somewhere else. i cant believe
StudentStudentStudent

A memorial for one of the students that was killed in the riots. I also walk by this every day.
how terrible my trip is going. but if these political issues werent happening then i would LOVE it here. its a small cute city.. walkable.. and everyone is extremely ffriendly. i start classes tomorrow. maybe ill feel better once i meet other travelers and get their viewpoint on everything.

adios.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.133s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0897s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb