Arrived in La Paz and oh no.. i really cant speak spanish!!!


Advertisement
Bolivia's flag
South America » Bolivia » La Paz Department » La Paz
November 24th 2007
Published: November 24th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hola!!!
so my spanish is terrible but im learning that VERY fast. I cant wait for my spanish lessons once i get to sucre. Arriving to Bolivia was a peice of cake..no problems with flying, visa arrangements, or getting picked up at the airport. I already made a friend at the airport who is doing pretty much the same thing as me. She is from California but she is going to Santa Cruz in Bolivia. We exchanged emails so we will be in touch and even talked about meeting up. So I´m really excited about that.
Once I arrived in La Paz and passed through security, Gregorio was there. He is a cute little old bolivian man who took me to my hotel, Hotel Ritz. Everyone so far I have encountered are friendly and helpful. I havent been harrased at all. I hope everyone in Bolivia is like this! 😉

La Paz is a city almost 5,000 high so I am experiencing some altitude sickness. Headaches, drowsiness, and lack of appetite. I took some ibprofin and have been drinking tons of liquids. Pretty soon Ill be getting something to eat. Hopefully ill find something tasty but sanitary. The last thing I want is food poisoning. La Paz is busy and filled with people but it really is like no other city I have ever been to before. its location is mindblowing. I reccomend googling La Paz and take a look at it. It is a city surrounded by mountains but the city lays at the bottem. Almost like a canyon and houses are also surrounded by the edges of the mountain. Its beautiful! Clear views of the mountain tops too. I cant wait to go to Sucre tomorrow though because it isnt as big as La Paz and is more laid back.

well, i dont really miss anyone yet but i sure do love everyone!!!
ill be in touch,
Love you!!!
Shannon

Advertisement



Tot: 0.105s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0738s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1010.6kb