into thin air


Advertisement
Published: August 17th 2006
Edit Blog Post

the sprawling city of la pazthe sprawling city of la pazthe sprawling city of la paz

my next challenge in the background...
La Paz has been great, and certainly one of the best cities I´ve visited. Amazing restaurants (RamJam especially), interesting museums, tons of history and a spectacular geographical setting. I will miss the constant chatter of the micro busses passing with the incoherent Bolivian screaming the various locations his ride services. Una boliviano, una boliviano, plaza Isabella, san Francisco, prado…ah the memories. It´s the best way to get around town, super cheap and very safe.
After the downhill biking, I opted for some uphill trekking, and most logical option was to attempt the 6,088m Huayna Potosi, not far from La Paz. I booked a tour which included all the necessary gear (cramp-ons, ice axe, gore pants, gators, mountaineering boots, gloves, fleece), experienced guides, and a roof versus a tent over my head for the two nights (no sense roughing it when you don´t have to). We, two Canadians, one Israli-Russian, 2 Dutch ladies, a young German and a French couple, led by our guides Jesus (he made me feel extra safe), Felix, Lorenzo and Choco, jumped in the bus and headed to the base camp. We ate a quick lunch, bundled up, and headed to the practice glacier to become familiar with
mt. huayna potosi, 6088mmt. huayna potosi, 6088mmt. huayna potosi, 6088m

i like this picture...something about the dark clouds give it a unique symmetry.
the various ´moves´. After a couple hours we headed back to the refuge, enjoyed a great meal, and relaxed by the fireside telling stories and watching Phillip the German try, to no avail, to dry his pack-towel.
In the morning I jumped out of bed, excited for the day and the adventure to come. Little did I know that 24 hours later I would be pushed to my absolute extreme, struggling to the peak.
We packed up and headed out at 1pm, a 3 hour hike to the next base camp at 5,000m. As you can see in the pic, the second camp was a simple iron circus tent, perfect to keeping in warmth and keeping out the already lacking oxygen. We arrived at 4ish, had some food and were told to go to sleep. Right. With that little oxygen, the serotonin-releasing cocktail of excitement and nervousness, the time (it was 6pm) and the fact that the 10 of us made up the tightest ´spooning´ session I have ever witnessed, I - and all others but one - got NO sleep. We ´woke´ at 12:30am, had some tea, got dressed in the dark and started trekking. After 10 minutes on
a nearby cemetery...a nearby cemetery...a nearby cemetery...

hopefully not a sign of things to come...
the rocks we laced up our cramp-ons and started ice-walking. It took about 6 hours, maso menos, and the last stretch was rather intriguing. 250m of 45 degrees, 4 of us tied together, absolutely exhausted, with the summit barely in view. When I got to the top I didn´t realize I was there, the thin air combined with physical and mental exhaustion made me veritably drunk. I took a video at the top, watching it now I see how drunk I really was. Slurring words, making no sense, not even acknowledging those around me, were some of my symptoms. It sounds like I´m complaining, and in fact I am, but I will climb again, watching the sun rise at 6,000m´s, seeing the clouds and peaks below, was something only Wordsworth could describe. The hike down was harder than up for me, something about being tied together and walking down 45 degree slopes, knowing that I had hours of it ahead of me…wishing I had my skiis…arg. I think I like best the form of mountaineering that after one reaches the peak, they are doubly rewarded by flying down the mountain on tele-skiis. My sister must be proud reading this.
We made it down, the headache subsided, and we (very tiredly) drove back to La Paz. I stayed one more night in the beautiful ´Posada de la Abuela (947 Linares St for those searching), and headed to Copacabana the next day.



Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement

the base camp refuge....the base camp refuge....
the base camp refuge....

what a place to acclimatize, great food, great people, laughs by the fireside.
the base camp refuge....the base camp refuge....
the base camp refuge....

another pic because it was just THAT picturesque
hardcorehardcore
hardcore

this trooper has only one arm to climb with, doesn´t sound like he needs much occupational therapy!
the practice glacierthe practice glacier
the practice glacier

where i sharpened my teeth and dulled my cramp-ons.
relaxing before the climbrelaxing before the climb
relaxing before the climb

at this point I had no idea what I was getting into.
the other refuge, ours was better.the other refuge, ours was better.
the other refuge, ours was better.

i like the colourful tents in this pic
the second campthe second camp
the second camp

our refuge from 6pm-12:30am


20th August 2006

Congratulations!
Good to hear you made it all the way up and can now boast with a 6000-peak, I´m a bit jealous... Great pics as well!
31st August 2006

good gawd
sounds like a fun way to get messed up...depriving yourself of oxygen and climbing up a hill. a steel tent on the top of a mountain doesn't sound comfy. but hey, the pictures look amazing!
7th September 2006

still great
Hello Brian, today you are flying home and i am working. Can't resist looking on your bloog and see the beautiful pictures of Huyana Potosi. The mountain, the people, the experience....it was absolutely great. And your pictures are great. Got one of you on the top...stille have your video?? hug and kiss from Weeb

Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 67; dbt: 0.0717s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb