hola cochabamba


Advertisement
Published: June 15th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Today was my first full day in Cochabamba, after 2 days in La Paz, and one day traveling between the two cities. My impressions of Bolivia are many, and intense, and scattered. Being in a new place is so invigorating!

The women here are incredible. By observing them, I cannot help but think they are wise. Many of the older women dress in the traditional skirt and hat of the indigenous people. The indigenous population in Cochabamba is largely Quechua, while in La Paz, it is the Amaryas. And many carry large loads wrapped in blankets on thier backs, either the goods they´re selling on the street, or their children. I have seen many of these women either alone, or with other women, but rarely with men. Perhaps a coincidence, but nonetheless interesting.

While walking through the busy city of La Paz, I often looked up to admire Illimani - the beautiful, snow-capped mountain visible from down in the valley. In Cochabamba, when I look up with a vague intention of seeing something grand, I see only the giant Jesus statue: enormous, white, arms-open, looking over the city of Cochabamba. It´s not Illimani, and yes I would rather see a moutain, but because it is new and different, it is still exciting - a sight to behold!

Today at the main market in Cochabamba - La Cancha (supposedly one of the largest outdoor markets in South America) - I saw more bananas in one place than I have ever seen before, which was exciting. A lot of produce, electronics, toys, bread, candy, alcohol, instruments - and many other things.

salud a cochabamba,
paz al mundo



Advertisement



21st June 2007

Back at home
This is very interesting to read Rachel, you have excellent writing shills and your descriptions of the city and surroundings make me feel as though I am there. Wish Daddy and I were!.
22nd June 2007

que pasa
Hi, are you checkin ghtis comment section? I have not even started my book, but Daddy and I are going camping this weekend and I promise I will get it read, LOVE MOM

Tot: 0.203s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.1587s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb