Some views of Cochabamba


Advertisement
Published: March 19th 2007
Edit Blog Post

This is the road where I liveThis is the road where I liveThis is the road where I live

Calle Damaso. It´s up in the hills, with the valley of the city centre to the left of this photo, and more hills above. I live approx where you see a dark car parked on the left
Whilst fishing around on the travel blog site, I noticed that most of the other bloggers are posting some gorgeous photos. To be fair, I haven´t been taking my camera around much, as you have to be careful about carrying valuables around, but this city is really beautiful and I haven´t really been doing it justice. Here are a few more to give you some idea of what it looks like here... the views that I see while going to catch the bus, that kind of thing.

As you can see, I am surrounded by hills, one of which has a huge statue of Jesus which can be seen from all over the city, and is illuminated at night. My family live up in the hills, so I have gorgeous views while I am with them, or as I leave them to catch the bus to go the hospital.

When it has been a hot sunny day, we get a beautiful sunset which looks particularly lovely from the hills and looking down on the city. Howver sunny days bring very cold nights; last night I slept under three blankets and was snug as a bug, but the previous
The view from the bus stopThe view from the bus stopThe view from the bus stop

Every morning and afternoon I get the micro into town, and while I am waiting, the view could be worse!!
couple of nights I was really chilly.

It seems as though the weather here goes in cycles of a few days of sunny weather and then a few days of angry looking clouds and occasional downpours. I´ve been lucky to avoid the worst of the downpours so far, however the drainage here is poor, so even after a downpour you can end up with wet feet!




Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

El CristoEl Cristo
El Cristo

I keep trying to get the perfect picture of the Cristo, but don´t really have the zoom to show how lovely it is. This is the Cristo viewed from the bus stop.
A passer byA passer by
A passer by

I haven´t dared to take a photo in the bus, but you see all sorts of people, pretty much all Bolivian, many carrying children and dressed in the traditional way.
Here comes the busHere comes the bus
Here comes the bus

This is the welcome sight of the bus I take to the hospital arriving. The road is a bit rough up where I live, so the bus makes slow progress towards me: plenty of time for a piccy
The bus, el microThe bus, el micro
The bus, el micro

I wanted you to see what I am travelling around the city in. These big old Dodge buses, running on diesel. We have daily competitions on how many passengers can fit in these buses, it´s great fun!
The sunset later onThe sunset later on
The sunset later on

When I get back from the afternoon session at the hospital, usually about 630pm, the sunsets can be stunning. The colours in the mountains are just gorgeous...
The last of the sun yesterdayThe last of the sun yesterday
The last of the sun yesterday

As viewed from my bedroom window...


Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0378s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb