Patagonia


Advertisement
Published: June 18th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hiya,

I am having a grand ol' adventure here in Patagonia. The trip has got off to a great start. I left Ushiaia (Cape Horn) two days ago, and am now further North at El Calafate. Its higher up in the Andes and has some amazing glaciers cracking into huge mountain lakes. Will forward photos. This afternoon I tour the most infamous ´Peurto Moreno'´ Glacier. - 60 meters.

I'm in a hostel for these 3 days, and it feels good not having to carry my larger rug-sack every day... phew! It took 30 hours Door-2-Door to get to Cape Horn. I was hoping to check out a trip to Antarctica, but the 8 days required exceeds my stay in Patagonia. It would have been deadly to make the trip all six continents. Meeting lots people, especially Israelis, they seem to have a very prominent back packers culture. Last week, the two girls on the penguin trip were chillin out after 3 years compulsory military service, and half of the present hostel guests are from there too. Nice bunch.

I´have been blessed with exceptional weather / experiences. On the Glacier Hike, the organisers were surprised that the afternoon mountain rains never came ( I got sunburned!), and a Cruise to see the sea-lions captured a fierce fight between two large males, the organiser said it was years since he seen such action, normally they just make loud warnings to each other.

This weekend I´m off to Sao Paulo, Brazil's´ business capital. In February, my sister Sandra will be joining me for the trip to the West of Canada, (across the Rockies from Lake Louise to Vancouver).

Adios,

Adrian,


Itinerary:

Jan 18th Dublin - London, London - Sao Paulo
Jan 19 Sao Paulo - Buenos Aires - Ushuaia ( Patagonia)
Jan 27 El Calafate ( Patagonia) - Buenos Aires - Sao Paulo
Feb 1 Sao Paulo - L.A. - Las Vegas

Feb 15 San Fran - Toronto
Feb 17 Toronto - Sj Johns (NFL)
Feb 20 St Johns - Toronto
Feb 23 Toronto - Calgary ( Train across Rockies)
Feb 27 Vancouver - Hawaii
Mar 3 Hawaii - Auckland ( NZ)
Mar 17 Christchurch (NZ) - Sydney
Apr 1 Melbourne - Bangkok ( Thailand / Cambodia / Vietnam)
May 3 Bangkok - Delhi
May 29 Colombo ( Sri Lanka) - Dubai - Nairobi ( Kenya 😊


Advertisement



Tot: 0.123s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0447s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb