Finally real wilderness


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Santa Cruz » El Chaltén
February 24th 2006
Published: April 11th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Approaching Mount Fitzroy and Approaching Mount Fitzroy and Approaching Mount Fitzroy and

Parque Nacional Los Glaciares
The good news were that the track to Fitzroy (highest mountain in Southern Patagonia) in Parque Nacional Los Glaciares wasn´t half as tough as Torres del Paine AND there wasn´t as much commercial shit (excuse my frensh - in Torres there were MINIMARKETS at some campgrounds! Come on, what´s that?? Wilderness???) AND it was only a 3 days track!! Which meant there was no need to carry a bag that weighs a tonne and a half! Great, I thought. When we got to El Chaltén, the access town, one of the park rangers inspired me to pack my stuff and leave for the track straight away (off the bus into the park) by saying that the weather changes all the time and since it rains most of the time we should get our sh...together and get going NOW. Okay....and so off I went. And so I was DAAAAMN lucky with that weather - 3 days of (more of less) sunshine and -most importantly - very little wind. (In Torres del Paine I learned that the wind in Patagonia doesn´t belong to the enjoyable features). The day I returned a storm broke lose like I´ve never seen before. That wind was incredible!!
The peaks start to glow The peaks start to glow The peaks start to glow

lit by the rising sun (Fitzroy)





Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Cerro Torre after sunsetCerro Torre after sunset
Cerro Torre after sunset

near the first night's camp
Typical scenery in the parkTypical scenery in the park
Typical scenery in the park

(appart from the pointy peaks)


20th October 2010
Typical scenery in the park

kerala tours
I am very interesting to know about new trvel experiences and new trvel destinations in the world. So I am always keep my eyes open towards new trends in travel field and good blog posts helping me to know new generation travellers mentality. This is very Nice and Informative posting and helped me to improve my knowledge position about tourism in these places specified in this post..

Tot: 0.248s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 92; dbt: 0.0692s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb