Back to Salta for a day


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Salta
June 4th 2005
Published: June 15th 2005
Edit Blog Post

- FOOD: More empañadas, good Italian food

- AREA: Old colonial house hostal with cute puppy (why didn't I come here before?); wobbly cable car to top of mountain with lots to do and see; De Boca en Boca world music band live.

- PEOPLE: Friendly dog who did not want me to leave

- WEATHER: Same as before


Sat 4th: This time it was the younger woman's turn to talk incessantly about the shower. Escaped without having one (far too much hassle) and got greeted by the friendly dog who kept following me around yesterday. He was quite protective of me and barked at anyone who came near me but then when I tried to get on the bus back to Salta, he grabbed my leg and wouldn't let go!

Back in Salta I was well prepared for the HI man and countless other hostel sellers and marched through them all. I went straight to the nice hostel with the cute puppy that the others had stayed in and then to my empañada shop on the plaza where the waiter must think I fancy him I'm there so much.

I took the cable car up to the top of the mountain which was a bit scary as it was wobbling loads and stopped for a while very high up (it was here I noticed the sign mentioning that you shouldn't worry if it breaks down - mechanics are on hand 24 hours).
There was more than just a nice view at the top - waterfalls, cafe, play area, theatre area. I took the steps back down and was impressed at how many people I passed walking and even running up.

I stopped by at the shopping centre on the way back which totally overawed me and did my head in (so many people, so many shops) but it was here I declared my status as a semi only backpacker by buying lots of toiletries instead of using just one product for everything!

After finding a nice little Italian restaurant, I avoided the 'rave route' by going to the culture house to see a band of 4 women called 'De Boca en Boca' play drums and percussion and sing incredibly well to music from around the world. I couldn't understand much of what they were saying but recognised the music from Africa, India Russia and LOTS from South America. They were really funny and could make the most fantastic noises! The audience were great and were dancing in their seats and clapping away. I think I was the only backpacker (again).


Advertisement



Tot: 0.317s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 20; qc: 74; dbt: 0.2134s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb