more Argentina pics


Advertisement
Published: November 2nd 2005
Edit Blog Post

These snowy pics are of the trek on Monday to the summit of Cerro Catedral. It was a tough climb, especially when we hit snow half way up. Luckily I was wearing my hiking boots that day ( I only joined the guys hiking when I met them at the bus stop). Two of the other guys were only weraing sneakers, so they would have had freezing feet! I stopped about 500m short of the summit, where the other guys continued to a rocky outsrop to check out the view. The view was pretty amazing from where I was, though, so I didn't mind staying behind (that, and I was completely stuffed..).


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

halfway uphalfway up
halfway up

Cerro Catedral, Bariloche
Lenga (Nothofagus pumilio)Lenga (Nothofagus pumilio)
Lenga (Nothofagus pumilio)

Cerro Catedral, Bariloche
fairly steep slopefairly steep slope
fairly steep slope

Cerro Catedral, Bariloche
second half of panoramasecond half of panorama
second half of panorama

Cerro Catedral, Bariloche
the boysthe boys
the boys

had to stop every 5 minutes to take photos - bloody tourists
going up to the top (not me!)going up to the top (not me!)
going up to the top (not me!)

Cerro Catedral, Bariloche
the sun setting behind the mountainthe sun setting behind the mountain
the sun setting behind the mountain

Cerro Catedral, Bariloche
the topthe top
the top

Cerro Catedral, Bariloche
Lenga (Nothofagus pumilio)Lenga (Nothofagus pumilio)
Lenga (Nothofagus pumilio)

Cerro Catedral, Bariloche
there's life in them thar hills!there's life in them thar hills!
there's life in them thar hills!

summit Cerro Catedral, Bariloche
more life in the crevicesmore life in the crevices
more life in the crevices

Cerro Catedral, Bariloche
even snow won't kill themeven snow won't kill them
even snow won't kill them

summit Cerro Catedral, Bariloche


Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 21; dbt: 0.0457s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb