My Patagonian Playground


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Río Negro » El Bolsón
August 24th 2006
Published: August 24th 2006
Edit Blog Post

The LakeThe LakeThe Lake

Speaks a thousand words
Well, yet again sorry it´s been so long between updates. I´ve been traveling again.. yay. Well my last week in BA, was pretty routine, going to school walking around. Went out one night with my room mates which was fun, to an all you can eat meat buffet, for like $15 aussie, and it came with a bottle of wine, and desert, and salads, cheese´s olives, all sorts of delicous food. Had a good conversation with Cynithia, she´s a really cool chick, and I supose that is about it. Ohh I also played my best game of pool ever. Cynitha broke, and then I sank 8 of my balls in a row, winning the match, pitty she wouldn´t play commercial rules for losing 7 balls up. Ohh I also did some cloths shopping. I brought myself a really really warm jumper, and a nice long sleave t-shirt. Leaving BA, I had lots of mixed emotions, I was excitted to be traveling agin, but nervous, at the same time, espically as I´m travelling alone, I was happy that I was going to be meeting some more people, and also sad to leave behind my friends. Such is the nature of travelling. On
All you can eat meatAll you can eat meatAll you can eat meat

At the all you can eat restraut. You point at what you want, and they give it to you, straight off the bbq.
Friday I went out to lunch with my teacher, had a great steak, and this grilled cheese thing. I forget what it is caled, but it was moy bien.

On saturday I caught the Bus to Porte Madryn, it was a grueling 19hours, although I must say that the bus was really nice. I swear that they have the best buses in the world here. They even feed you, although the food is average. I meet a french guy here, who I had also meet in BA, a month before. On my first day we walked along the beach, spotted some wales, ahd a really nice feed, and relaxed. The next day, we went for a tour to penisular valdes, which is a huge wildlife sancturary, where we got to see pink flamigo´s, whales elephant seals. Have a look at the photo´s. It was really cool, espically the wales, we got to see them so close, at one point there were four of them right next to the boat, and we also had one jump, right in front of us. They are trully majestic creatures.

That night I caught the bus, to where I am now, El
WhalesWhalesWhales

There were 4 of these huge majestic creatures, close enough to touch.
Bolson. It is here that I have fallen in Love with patagonia. It is so beautiful. Along the Andies, there are amaxing mountain scenary, while east of the mountains to the coast there is mile anfter mile of waste land, that is kinda desert and filled with wild shrubs. It resembles the landscape in Australian desert. It also like Australia, goes on for miles and miles and some more miles. My next trip from here is going to be to Ushuar, which is the end of the world, literally. It is the southmost city in the world, some 3600km south of BA, or from where I am about 37hours on a bus. Looking forward to that 😊.

Anyhow El bolson, is a laid back place. Not once have I ever seen somone in a rush, everyone waves to each other, hitch hicking is comon. People still use horse for transport, and the place has a good feel to it. What´s more it´s absolutly beatiful. I´m staying at a place out of town, that has no TV no internet, and is beautiful. It´s more of a refuge than a hostel, and it´s just peaceful. The view is so relaxing, I think I´ll propably, spend a few days here, hike a mountain, and go skiing.

Yesterday, I met an Israli, who was gowing with a heap of spanish speaking guys to a lake, I was invited and I went with them. It was really cool, caught a local bus out there, then walked around and chilled out. Went for a walk in "the forest of shadows", that was one of the most magnificent things I´ve ever seen. Then we hitched back to town as we missed the bus. The Israli invited me to come traveling with him abit, but I wasnt to stay here, so all is good.

What else, food´s really good here, with amazing chocolate, so i´m having a good time. I Miss everyone back home, and I hope you all enjoy the photo´s.
















Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

What I woke uptoWhat I woke upto
What I woke upto

Coming from Porte Madryn, to El Bolson, at about 7:30am.
The Forest of ShadowsThe Forest of Shadows
The Forest of Shadows

Photo´s don´t do it justice
Chilin outChilin out
Chilin out

Really relaxed, beautiful... ahh I love Patagonia.


25th August 2006

hi im writing just to let you know i like what you said about my country and to give you an advice .... if you like el bolson so far just go to bariloche or san martin de los andes and you ll really fall in love with patagonia .... those are the most wonderful places ive ever been in my life... beauty everywhere..... goodbye and good luck with your trip

Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0229s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb